So, who’s this boy I blog about sometimes?

Well, his name is Ryan, and he’s my boyfriend of two years 🙂

Ryan is one of the most sincere people I know. I trust him with my whole heart and I can always count on him for anything. One time when I got sick with food poisoning a year and a half ago, he rushed over with saltine crackers, Gatorade (to replenish my electrolytes), two red box movies (one girly and one comedy, in case I was in the mood to laugh or cry), a fresh toothbrush and dark chocolate for when I got better. Ryan is also super thoughtful, and has come up with the most creative and personalized gifts to give me (I’ll be featuring a post on this closer to Valentine’s Day… ohhh I can’t wait to share this! UPDATE: here’s the post on his oh-so-creative gift!)  He’s also freakin’ hilarious and can make me laugh in pretty much any situation, even when I’m feeling down. Ryan’s goofiness and lighthearted personality really draws me to him. It’s always so much fun to watch him play around with Happy.

Goofballs

Ryan is also very insightful, and we always have so much fun on long road trips, picking each others’ minds. Ryan loves his sports, and has a wealth of knowledge on all things related to Ireland (he’s proud of his Irish heritage!) What I love about Ryan most is just how genuine he is. He never puts up a front, and there are no games with him. We’re really good at expressing our feelings to each other, and if there is an issue that needs to be hashed out, we never hold back. This open communication has made us such a strong couple, and I think it will only continue to make us stronger.

Perfection

So, where did this boy come from?

Ryan is originally from Russellville, Arkansas (yeah…I totally had to look up on a map where that was when I first met him…) and he graduated from Arkansas Tech University with a degree in journalism (concentration public relations). At Tech he served as the editor of his school’s student paper as well as a national committee member for PRSSA. If any of you PR kids are familiar with PRSSA, Ryan was the Editor-in-Chief of FORUM, the student society’s national newspaper. In fact, Ryan maintains a blog for PR students and young professionals, giving advice from his experiences.

Growing up, soccer was Ryan’s passion. From ages 4-9 he played rec soccer and from ages 10-17 he played on a travel team that was on the road most weekends playing in club soccer tournaments across the country. Ryan has always had foot issues… stemming from his high arches (like, super high).

Another soccer season... another ankle sprain.

I wish that Ryan could run with me, but his high arches have caused issues for his Achilles, calves and knees and they do not easily allow him to run on hard surfaces without experiencing pain. One of Ryan’s resolutions for this year is to nail down what he needs to do to prevent this pain.

Ryan stays fit by frequenting the Y to lift weights and do cardio, and he enjoys playing pick-up games with his buddies here in Charlotte. On the weekends, Ryan and I love to walk to Freedom Park (especially now that we have Happy!) and visit the mountains nearby for hiking.

After hard work in college and pursuing internships in his field, Ryan was rewarded with a job at a highly reputable marketing communications agency, Taylor. They have 5 offices (New York City, Los Angeles, Chicago, London) and Ryan works at the one here in Charlotte. [[Taylor’s client list includes Coca-Cola, MasterCard, Gillette, Smirnoff, Guinness, Kimberly-Clark (kleenex, anyone?), P&G, Capital One, MARS and NASCAR (hence the Charlotte office!) Pretty neat, huh?! ]] Ryan has had the opportunity to promote client partners in NASCAR, the Olympics and college football… among others. I frequently tell Ryan how lucky he is… he truly enjoys what he does!

So there you have it, that’s the story behind the boy. I’ll feature how we met another time… so stay tuned! UPDATE: here’s a post on how we met 🙂

12 Comments

Filed under job, PRSA, Ryan, the boy

12 responses to “So, who’s this boy I blog about sometimes?

  1. aww great story!!! You have a very sweet boyfriend…and a freakin’ adorable dog!!

  2. Sounds like a winner! Smarts + good looks!

  3. Rhonda

    I couldn’t ask for a more perfect fit with this gorgeous, smart, balanced, happy girl that my son has as his partner in life! Love you both bunches!

  4. Pingback: Half-marathon next weekend? Sure, sign me up! | Happy Tales

  5. Pingback: When Hard Work Pays Off | Happy Tales

  6. Pingback: It’s Not the Size of the Dog in the Fight… | Happy Tales

  7. Pingback: Two And A Half Years | Happy Tales

  8. Pingback: The Waiting Game | Happy Tales

  9. Pingback: Coming Full Circle | Happy Tales

  10. Pingback: Going Under The Knife… | Happy Tales

Leave a Reply

