Turning the Big 2-5!

Considering the fact that my blog is about a month old now…and my birthday was over a month ago, I obviously did not get the chance to reflect on the big day I turned 25. So in true birthday-girl fashion…its my blog, and I’ll write about it if I want to. So let’s rewind a bit, and revisit December 1oth, 2010.

Because I was restin’ up for my 4th half marathon, my actual birthday consisted of a whole lotta lounging around, window shopping and relaxin’ (the true celebration came the night of the 11th).  Lucky for me, I had the day off from work.  Ryan arrived home from work and walked in the door with a beautiful bouquet of flowers in hand. He sure knows how to make me feel like a princess!

DSCF1050

Happy wanted to eat them…

Aaaaand, what’s even better is the fact that he rented a super girly movie for us to watch – Up! Have any of you seen it!? Homigosh, this movie had BOTH me and Ryan in tears within the first 5 minutes. Not even kidding. I was balling. I probably should have been embarrassed. But we’ve already established  that I’m ridiculous (see Happy page), so me balling is just a normal occasion. This girl ain’t afraid to show her emotions! (Oh and to make my birthday even sweeter, Ryan shared the news that he got a promotion…his 3rd one in 2 years! Talk about a great birthday present!)

dscf1069.jpg (3296×2472)

Happy likes to help open presents

The next morning, I ran my 4th half-marathon, ThunderRoad, in 2:06… dropping another 6 minutes. Another PR, and a great birthday present to myself! I probably could have have gone faster, too. I ran the first half with two of my friends (one ended up getting sick) so I was able to pick up the pace a little bit in the second half.

DSCF1091

Ready to dominate 13.1 miles!

DSCF1092

Feelin’ good at Mile 11!

DSCF1094

13.1 miles in the bag. No big deal.

For my actual birthday celebration, Ryan told me I had to be ready to leave and out there door by 5pm. This gave me time to clean up and nap after my race, chowdown on some good grub, rest some more, eat some more… and clean up the apartment for company later (way later).

Because I’ve been  living with Ryan for the past 6 months I have learned his “mancode” and can now decipher the true meaning behind “we need to leave by X time.” So when Ryan said we had to leave “by 5PM” I knew he really meant that we had to leave by…ohhh, abouttttt 5:45PM (does anyone elses’ significant other do this to them? …tell them to be ready half an hour earlier than they really need to be just because they know they’ll be late? Hehe, I know it’s all out of love). So because I didn’t want to be the cause of a ruined date, I was ready early, which to Ryan meant … on time.

DSCF1102

But of course, I had to stall and take this picture before climbing into the car. Typical "girlcode." He knows this now.

Once we were all settled in the car, we hopped onto the highway. I was convinced we were headed South on 85 (in fact, I was so convinced that I think I freaked Ryan out because he started second guessing himself until he saw a sign confirming we were, in fact, headed in the right direction). Yep, good thing I wasn’t driving.

So we continued making our way on 77North (I know, only I could mix up 77N and 85S… I hardly ever use the highways now that my workplace is point 2 seconds away from my apartment) and I noticed that we were headed towards the town my Aunt and Uncle used to live in — Moorsville. We actually took their exit and continued down the road that would’ve taken me to their house. This got me excited because I realized our date had the potential to be somewhere near Lake Norman, a beautiful lake located just North of Charlotte.

We ended up pulling into the parking lot of this comedy club, and in my head I was thinking “oh, how interesting, I’ve never been to a comedy club before, this will be different!” But we kept on walking and ended up in a building that had a  circular life raft hanging on the wall. Then it dawned on me… “OHMIGOSH! We’re  going on a DINNER CRUISE!!!!!!!!”

DSCF1116

I love boats!!!!!!!

DSCF1118

Standard "monkey-arm" pic

My reaction must have been priceless because Ryan said that it was his favorite part of the night. I have always loved going on dinner cruises with my parents when I was little, and I haven’t been on one in AGES. Ryan must have overheard me talking to my mom during one of our Christmas trips about how neat it would be for all of us to go on one again, and being the smarty he is, he took note. What an awesome boyfriend I have. (Seriously… Ryan is the most creative gift-giver I’ve ever come across. Just you wait until I do a recap on what he did for Valentine’s day two years ago…)

DSCF1121

And what an awesome night we had! It was a really intimate experience with great food and service, and it was even topped off with my favorite — Red Velvet Cake (oh he knows me so well!).

DSCF1128

nom nom nommm

DSCF1125

Strikin' a birthday pose

DSCF1142

All bundled up to brave the cold

Once we got back to Charlotte… Gail, Zack and his girlfriend, Sara, all came over to our apartment for a mini birthday celebration.

DSCF1143

Blurry...for a reason..?

DSCF1145

❤ Gail!

DSCF1146

Looks like Little Ms. Happster is getting’ roooowdy

We had a great time catching up, drinking, and playing some fun board games that Ryan gave me for Christmas last year.  (I know I know… my 25th birthday celebration and I’m playing board games? You don’t have to tell me… I’m old. But! I did run a half marathon earlier that day… so that’s my excuse for takin’ it easy!)

DSCF1150

So donezo. Happy = Party Pooper... life of the party no longer.

39 Comments

Filed under birthdays, half marathon, my story, recap, running

39 responses to “Turning the Big 2-5!

  1. Well happy late 25th bday! And your outfit w/ the gray dress and tights is too cute!! You look adorable!

  2. Rhonda

    I so love reading your blog 🙂

  3. Talk to me when you’re in your 30’s and then we will talk old! 25 was a great year for me and looks like yours will be off to a great start! I love that you confused 85 and 77 hahahahhhaahaha, that’s awesome. I had no clue they had dinner cruises like that on Lake Norman-how cool. I’ve never been on one (well except sorority formal) but anytime I think of one I think of The Office.

    Everyone who I talked to who has seen Up said they were crying right away so you’re not the only one–it’s in my Netflix queue to watch, woo hoo!

    I can’t wait to see Hapsmear, she is so adorable!!! Sorry, I had to call her that agter your tweet the other night 🙂

    • I thought of The Office, too! Hilarious.

      ~

    • Girlllll you had my cracking up throughout this whole comment. Whenever I see you’ve written something I just automatically start laughing. Such a good thing!

      And yes, only I can confuse 85 and 77… and then of course North and South. I promise you, it takes skill. Le sigh…
      Let me know when Up arrives at your house. The pups would have a ball watching it (and watching us as we cry our eyes out). And yes, I can’t wait for Hapsmear to meet Linkypoops!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. I’ve been trying to con my husband into watching Up. I think tonight’s the night! Happy birthday! I wish I could run a half marathon!!! You are in awesome shape girl!
    xo
    Mindy

  5. Awww, happy belated birthday!!! That’s so awesome about the dinner cruise! I’ve heard people say that they love it, but we have yet to try it out (and we even lived on the lake for a year!)

    🙂
    Linds

  6. sooo cute!! i’m so glad your birthday was great. 🙂 It looked so fun!

    My parents totally do the fake time thing for me. It drives me nuts, because I am USUALLY on time….. usually. 😉

    Did I tell you I went to Catawba College? I just graduated in May, so I miss the Charlotte area sometimes… and my cousin lives right by Lake Norman, too!

  7. Awww, that’s so cute that he rented Up and got you flowers. Sounds like a great guy! Yes I totally have mancode with my boyfriend now. I can always tell when 10 minutes really means 30! 🙂 A dinner cruise sounds so romantic! You look so cute in your bday clothes! Sounds like such a fun birthday!

  8. Aww happy (very belated) 25th! Christopher turned 25 on the 16th of Dec so you are just a few days older than he is! 🙂

    Sounds like such a fabulous birthday! I love that he surprised you with a dinner cruise! How fun!

    • Aw, so fun that Christopher is another December baby! And yep, Ryan is super good at coming up with surprises… you’ll die when I recap what he did for Valentine’s day a few years back. Soooo creative!

  9. Congrats on 25…that was a huge year for me so enjoy it. From then on it is uphill towards 30…but trust me it only gets better 😉

  10. Aww 12/10 is one of my favorite days of the year b/c it’s my engagement day 🙂
    Looks like you had a wonderful celebration. Dinner cruises are so much fun!

  11. HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY! Awesome run, too!

    I have this dream that on my 26th birthday, I’ll run a marathon. I think it’ll work because my 26th birthday is on a Sunday!

    • Thaaaank you! And you know what… I actually was hoping that I could run 26.2 miles on my 26th birthday, too! And according to the ThunderRoad schedule (I’ve ran the half marathon 2 years in a row now) the race for 2011 would have been held on Saturday, December 10th– my 26th birthday! But they JUST changed the race date to early November!!!!!!! I am soooo bummed — I actually thought it was going to work out perfectly! 26 miles on my 26th birthday, and I wouldn’t even have to travel far away for it since the race would be in my hometown! Oh well, maybe something else will pop up. Hope it works out for you!!

  12. Pingback: Tweets that mention Turning the Big 2-5! | Happy Tales -- Topsy.com

  13. Happy Belated Birthday!My husband and I always take the one arm pics too! lol

  14. Sounds like a wonderful birthday!
    I was the same way with the movie Up! It was so good, but so sad…my nephew watching it with me, and he said it was sad but he looked at my like, “What is wrong with you?” when he noticed I was crying. Can’t hold back!

  15. I was supporting a bunch of friends during the Thunder Road 1/2 and feel like I remember seeing you and thinking you looked so legit cause of your outfit!!

  16. Pingback: 11 miles & Cashing in on a Christmas Present | Happy Tales

  17. Pingback: My ABC’s | Happy Tales

  18. Pingback: Half-marathon next weekend? Sure, sign me up! | Happy Tales

  19. Pingback: It’s official!! | Happy Tales

  20. Pingback: It’s all Fun & Games | Happy Tales

  21. Pingback: The (Unexpected) Road to the Flying Pig Expo | Happy Tales

  22. Pingback: Oh, Happy Day! | Happy Tales

Leave a Reply

