Oh, Happy Day!

So yesterday I posted about spending my first true Christmas with Ryan… but I neglected to dive into detail about how we spent it with Happy! I thought I’d save that for today, because (surprise surprise!) there are a ton of Happy pictures to share!

Happy of course got her own stocking…

DSCF1417

And in it found a brand new Kong toy!

DSCF1424

Happy LOVES her Kong

DSCF1529

Wat iz dis!?!

DSCF1531

Happy, meet Scruff McGruff

DSCF1533

Oh yes… it was definitely love at first bite

DSCF1534

I want!

DSCF1550

"Hold me"

DSCF1542

Oh, I’ll hold you all right!

DSCF1547

Chomp chomp choooomp

True love indeed. And a month later, Scruff McGruff is still kickin’! Our little Happter is not one to “destroy” her toys. She just lightly chomps on them. And wrestles with them. And pounces on them. She may make the squeakers stop a’squeaken…but she has yet to actually tear apart the stuffing of a toy.

In fact, Happy is not really that much of a chewer, either. Knock on wood. Who knows though… this could all change very quickly! She is now 7 months old and is just starting to get her big-girl teeth. We are definitely keeping our eye on her…

To top off Christmas, my mom surprised us with a fun puppy-paw ornament kit to commemorate our first Christmas with our new little pup.

DSCF1536

Obviously, this present was more for our enjoyment than hers…

So when Ryan and I got back to Charlotte, we broke out the kit and got to work! We wanted to make it before the turn of the year, since 2010 is the year we got our little pup.

DSCF1688

This dog should be a model… she is seriously all legs

DSCF1689

Check out my stemssss

How to make a pawpring ornament!

-Read directions to get the general idea

DSCF1690

-Make sure puddy is nontoxic… Check!

-Proceed to take puddy out of package

-Play with the puddy!

DSCF1694

-Hand puddy over to S.O. so he can have a turn

DSCF1696

What issssss this stuff?!!?

DSCF1699

Can I eat it?

-Knead puddy to make it soft and ready for paw imprint

DSCF1701

-Wait patiently for your turn to play with puddy

DSCF1698

Hrmph.

-Secure paw from wiggle-worm, and aim in general direction of puddy…

DSCF1702

wahhhhh I get to TOUCH IT!

-Press paw firmly into  puddy

DSCF1704

Okay so I am retracting my statement. Happy does sometimes like to knaw on my hand…

DSCF1705

chomp chomp chomp

DSCF1707

CHOOOOMPPPP!!!!

-Save hand from death grip of pup, and continue with ornament-making steps

DSCF1709

-Lay a plastic ring around the puddy to frame the pawprint

DSCF1710

-Press ring into puddy and tear away excess….

DSCF1711

-Use straw to poke holes into puddy

DSCF1712

-Make sure the holes go all the way through!

DSCF1713

Tada! The finished product!

DSCF1714

“Christmas 2010”

-Now let it dry, and add ribbon through holes so you can fasten it to the Christmas tree!

Have any of y’all done fun arts-and-craftsy type stuff with your pets?! Or am I the only crazy one…

34 Comments

Filed under Christmas, family, Happy, Oh, Happy Day!, recap

34 responses to “Oh, Happy Day!

  1. lauravirginia

    So cute! Ah, this only makes we want a puppy even more!!!

  2. That is SO cute! Olive would definitely not sit still for that. SO cute!!

  3. Aw, this is such an adorable idea! I don’t have any pets, so I’ve never done any crafts like this, but it’s so cute!!

  4. dmcgirl37

    omg what a cute dogg!!!!

    Dana xo
    http://happinessiswithinblog.com/

  5. Katherine: Unemployed

    girl, your running is incredible! my jaw is on the ground with those consecutive distance runs! YOU’RE AWESOME!

  6. Rhonda

    LOVE the paw ornament…. bet that whole episode was hilarious! 🙂

  7. You are definitely not alone on this fun craft project:-) I love my four babies like they are my kids, so they get to enjoy lots of fun:-) Happy seriously could be a model, sooooo precious!!! Love that sweet little face:-)
    Take care,
    Terra (CafeTerraBlog on Twitter)

  8. I love this idea! I wonder if I could try it with my cat.. hmmmmmmm!

  9. O
    M
    G

    Where did she get that?? I love it and must have it–even if Linky is four yrs old and I’m a little behind! And what is up with Hapster’s legs?? She’s like a giselle! Is she supposed to grow more or is this it? Linky is the same way–he will take the squeak out of his babies but never demolishes them. He even still has his OB-Original Baby that’s a little squeaky mouse that I bought for him the first night he stayed with me. I like to think it’s his favorite but homeboy slice doesnt need anymore babies. I feel like I’m always stepping or tripping over one!

    I’ve toyed with the idea of crocheting a sweater for him but I think that would officially drive me over to the Crazy dog lady side of the world!!

    • LOL love the giselle comment, and it’s so true! She even leaps like one at times. Ha, we try to limit the amount of toys happy has for that reason…don’t want to twist any ankles!

      Oh! And i believe the paw-ornament is from Bed Bath & Beyond…but you can also find some on Amazon!

  10. Happy’s ornament is so cute! I’ve made one with my baby cousin before and it was….interesting.

  11. How cute!
    I don’t have pets, but my sister always signed cards with her name, her hubby’s name, and a paw print of her dog (she dipped maddie’s paw in ink).

  12. SO cute! I want to do this with Chloe for her first Christmas next year! 🙂

    And Chloe is so hysterical with her toys. She has a stuffed ferret she actually thinks is live. If you watch her enter a room where the ferret is chillin’, she looks at it for a second, slowly, sneakily stalks it, and pounces.

    She’s still learning. 😉

  13. Awww that is SO precious! We need to do that with Oreo!

  14. oatsandspice

    What an adorable dog!! SO CUTE!

    Your blog is so cute! I love it and can’t wait to read more… I just started my blog about two months ago – it is so addicting 🙂 Check it out if you get a chance: http://oatsandspice.wordpress.com

  15. Oh my gosh. Happy KILLS me. Those ears. SO CUTE.

  16. Just found your blog! I don’t think we’ve met yet, but you’ll have to come to a Charlotte blogger meet-up sometime. We don’t bite, I promise! I got one of those paw print kits for Christmas and did it too. That stuff is weird isn’t it? It is so light… I thought it would be heavier, like clay!

    • I KNOW I thought it’d be heavier, too — It was as light as a feather!

      And yessss I would love to join a Charlotte meet-up sometime! There are soo many Charlotte bloggers out there, I can’t wait to meet y’all! Let me know if anything pops up 🙂

  17. Pingback: Oh, Happy Day! | Happy Tales

  18. Pingback: Oh, Happy Day! | Happy Tales

Leave a Reply

