Dinner in Chapel Hill & The Lion King!

After my 11 miler on Saturday, I quickly cleaned off and dolled myself up for a night out on the town!  Once I had some food in my belly, Ryan and I hit the road for our 2.5 hour drive to Chapel Hill, NC.

DSCF1992

Rooooadtrip!

DSCF1997

See ya, Charlotte

DSCF2008

DSCF2021

Biostats, I will own your soul

DSCF2024

(or at least, I’m attempting to…) *stumped*

2+ hours in the car? You bet your ass I’m gonna be utilizing that time to study! Y’all who know me well know that I am as big of a nerd as they come. Oh! and for those of you who care how I’m doing in my Biostatistics course, I got an A on my first test! Only missed 1 question. However, missing that one question equated to a 91%…so I’m glad it wasn’t more than that! I’m pretty amped, though, considering math is not exactly my strong point… I tell ya, the achiever in me is in full force this semester!

DSCF2026

Tarheel Country

We had dinner reservations for 5:30 and we wanted to make sure we had plenty of time to get there (and explore!).  And if you’re thinking 5:30 is an ungodly early hour to eat dinner, I completely agree with you. But we had to make sure we allowed ourselves enough time to have an enjoyable dining experience as well as drive over to Durham, find a parking spot, and walk over to the theatre for the 8:00PM showing of The Lion King.  We’re both planners. And we both do not like to be late. Put those two together and what do ya get? Yep, that would be dinner at the grandma hour.

But first, we had some explorin’ to do.

DSCF2035

Takin’ a stroll down Franklin Street

DSCF2032

Busstop

DSCF2033

Carolina Blue Handprint

Just another reason why I’m a nerd…

DSCF2028

❤ bookstores

DSCF2031

Ryan told me to “look smart.”

DSCF2029

…and I told Ryan to “get lost” (hehe, just kidding)

DSCF2037

DSCF2038

Is it dinner time yet?

Our dinner reservations were made at the best restaurant Chapel Hill has to offer – Cyrpess on the Hill on Franklin Street. Pretty much everyone I’ve talked to who has gone to UNC just raaaaves about this place! And lucky for me, one of my professors last semester was able to give me the hook up since his son, Greg, is the general manager of Cypress on the Hill. And let me just say, Greg and his crew provided topnotch service!

DSCF2049

Aaaaamazing

Ryan’s appetizer:

Roasted Garlic & Bread Soup
Roasted Garlic, House-made Baguette, Yukon Gold Potatoes, Applewood Smoked Bacon & Chive Oil

DSCF2050

Cheesy Goodness

My appetizer:

Red Wine Poached Bosc Pear & Celebrity Dairy Goat Cheese
Mixed Salad Greens & Shaved Fennel in a Ruby Port & Sourwood Honey Vinaigrette

DSCF2051

So. Much. FLAVOR!

The bread was pretty ballin’, too… They kept filling our plates up with the stuff (which was A-Okay by me!)  In fact, I think Ryan and I ate somewhere around two loaves each!  If you could taste it, you’d understand. Greg even swung by during our entrée and said “we’re currently firing up more bread for you in the oven…”  My thoughts? Yes, yes…of course you are.

DSCF2052

Uhh, hello? My last name isn’t a form of a carbohydrate for nothin’! Gotta represent!

Ryan’s Duck entrée…he said it was in the top 10 meals he’s ever had. Ever.

DSCF2057

Meaty

And my entrée? The best dang mussels my tastebuds have EVER met!!!! So plump and full of flavor…and the garlic butter broth was divine.

DSCF2059

I die.

And that bread that Greg brought us during our entrée? Yeah, we used that to “wipe-up” the very last drops of food on our plates. Otherwise, we prrrrobably would have licked our plates clean. Not. even. kidding.

DSCF2060

Oh don’t you worry, we will be makin' many more appearances at Cypress on the Hill!

We finished up dinner right around 7 and made our way across town to see the show.  We arrived with just the right amount of time to find parking, walk to the Durham Performing Arts Center, and find our seats. The place was paaaacked!

DSCF2062

The golden tickets! (They arrived in the mail a few days before the New Year…)

DSCF2064

I gotcha now!

DSCF2066

The Cast

DSCF2081

My oh-so-creative attempt at being artsy…

We finally settled down into our seats… and I must say, we had a pretty good view!

image

Pictures courtesy of Disney’s The Lion King (DPAC)

The performance was phenomenal. It was everything I remembered and more. I even teared up during the first scene (Circle of Life). It was just so powerful! It really made me realize how delicate life is… and it made me acknowledge how far I’ve come since high school. (I saw this show with my parents three days before my boyfriend from high school passed away in a car accident… so seeing this show for a second time almost made me feel as if I’ve come “full circle.” Very hard to explain, and I’m actually still sorting my thoughts on this…but I digress.)

I think one of my favorite parts about this show are all of the visuals – the chorography, costumes and set design are just beyond words.  I still can’t get over how they utilize the stage to make everything come to life.  And of course …the music was fantastic. If you haven’t seen it yet, I highly recommend keeping your eye out for a nearby show!

We hit the road to head home about 11PM. The drive wasn’t bad at all, but I sure was feeling some hunger pangs!

image

image

Too.Funny.

By the time we got home I was pretty much starving. So, what else does a girl do after a long day on her feet? Why, she makes a green monster, of course!

DSCF2082

The fixin’s

So that’s what I did. At 1:15AM (sorry, neighbors…)

DSCF2108

C’monnnn Bessie! Hurry up now!

I went to town making a green monster (aka…a green smoothie for those of you who are not down with the blog-world lingo).

DSCF2100

Get in my belly

I didn’t even bother to stop and take my heels off (and that, my friends, is saying something…considering the fact that I hardly ever wear heels… AND I had just run 11 miles earlier in the day.) Yeah. I wanted that green monster. And bad.

DSCF2138

Workin’ through the pain

DSCF2124

Heaven in a bowl

Mission accomplished. I went to bed a happy camper.

(Oh, and if you’re wondering how Happy faired during all of this… we have some aaaaaamazing neighbors in our apartment complex who also have puppies. We have all come to look after each others’ pups if any of us go outta town/are gone for a while. And of course, the pups just have a BALL!)

Have any of y’all ever seen The Lion King on Broadway…  or eatin at Cypress on the Hill? What do y’all do with your pets if you go out for an extended period of time?

49 Comments

Filed under Christmas, out and about, recap, roadtrip, school, Travel

49 responses to “Dinner in Chapel Hill & The Lion King!

  1. I did see Lion King (not on Broadway, at a theatre in Detroit) and it was great! I saw Wicked actually ON Broadway and it was fantastic, like nothing I’ve ever seen. And I don’t even really like musicals!

    My Roxie is kind of a special case. We boarded her a few times but her anxiety is pretty bad, so now we just leave her with relatives. We’ve “trained” a few people on how to give her her medicine and her little “nuances,” so she’s left at home and comfortable when we go somewhere 🙂

    • I’ve heard so many good things about Wicked… I think that’s next on my list of shows I want to see. And I’m like you, I’ve never been a big fan of musicals… maybe I’m turning a new leaf?

  2. I thought The Lion King was so good! The music was amazing. All your food looks delicious too. Looked like such a fun date night!

  3. I saw the Lion King in London’s West End a few years ago with my family. I was a bit dissapointed, the singer’s weren’t that great in that show so I wasn’t as moved by the music. Sounds like the cast you saw were better!

  4. I saw the Lion King in Chicago and it was UN-BE-LEV-ABLE! I def understand what you mean when you say you teared up at the “Circle of life” so moving! So glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  5. I’ve never seen The Lion King on stage but as you said I’ve heard it is amazing!
    Also, I love that you use a dog food cover to cover the can of leftover pumpkin 🙂 We do that too haha

  6. Sooo many things….first, is that a TI-83 calculator?!? Holy S, I haven’t seen one one of those since I tried to bank-shot mine into a trash bin during Algebra II class.
    Second, I love the bookstore pic. Especially the first one.
    Lastly, I’m totally diggin the green monster. I know my roommates get really happy when I gear up the blender past bedtime. What’d you use there?…looks like baby spinach, lemon, pumpkin spic?!, and….something.

    • you BETCHA that’s a TI-83! It’s quite the honker to tote around.

      And yep! I used a frozen nanner (already in the food processor), pumpkin, some yogurt,a whole lotta bebe spinach, and a lemon! Usually I have frozen grapes/berries on hand… butttt I’m out.

      I tell ya, the lemon maaaakes it! It adds such a nice kick to it… try it sometime!

  7. I love the 1st pic of you..gorgeous! When you want a green smoothie, you want one! 🙂

  8. Rhonda

    Oh how I love these recaps complete with photos! Do you realize how much I adore you as my son’s PIL? You are such a blessing! Looking forward to skyping with you guys on Thursday evening, if that time is still good for y’all… 🙂

  9. What a fun evening out! Good food, books, and a show…sounds like the perfect evening! I haven’t seen The Lion King, but I’ve heard such great things about it. It’s been showing here in Vegas for a few years, so maybe I need to get off my butt and go see it!

  10. Looks like a greta time! I love going to plays and I’m sure the Lion King was amazing!

  11. Why is it that we crave inconvenient things at in convenient times. I swear the only time I feel like a smoothie is during the wee hours where my neighbors would hate me for using the blender…

  12. Great post looks like you two had a great day! 🙂 I really love the lion king still need to see it on broadway though!

  13. Okay girl, seriously, you are just so cute! I love your blue eyes contrasted with your dark hair, beautiful! And I love how snazzy you look all dressed up. And I love you and your boy together ’cause you fit so well. And I love that you love the Lion King! So much love about this post! 😀

  14. I haven’t figured out how to leave Chloe for more than 5 hours at a time! I have friends who let her out when I’m at work.

    AND I have seen The Lion King on Broadway (…drumroll, please…) THREE times in New York! When I lived in South Jersey, it was a family trip, a class trip, and then one of my dad’s business functions, so I was a pretty lucky duck. That’s one of the huge things I miss about living up there. I was so close to the city!

    • Aw, it takes time for them to be able to go for extended periods of time without being let out… soooo good that you have such nice neighbors!

      And you’re so lucky that you’ve seen the show 3 times! I’ve always wante to go to NYC… never been there!

  15. The Lion King was such a phenomenal show! I remember seeing it as a high school graduation present in Chicago. Glad you had such an awesome night!

  16. I haven’t seen the Lion King since I was a kid! I remember loving! Wish I could see it again!!

  17. Wow! Amazing that you got to see the Lion King! So jealous. Love seeing shows.

  18. Katherine: Unemployed

    how in the world did you do work in the car? I would be nauseous! You are looking so pretty in your outfit. I’ve heard the costumes for the Lion King are awesome.

    you get major props for putting together a green monster after all of that! If I’m tired, I just shovel whatever is closest into my mouth 🙂

  19. omg, those mussels look amazing!!!! 🙂

  20. Lucky you, Lion King is fabulous. Just the way those gazelle’s move and the makeup artist that makes up the characters each night. I saw the show about 8 years ago and I still vividly remember how awesome it was!

    When we are gone on day trips, we have the neighbor kids come and take our pups out. But if we are going to be gone longer than that, our two sharpeis go to Grammy’s house. My husbands parents take really good care of them and keep them for weeks at a time when necessary.

    PS, what kind of blender is THAT?

    • Aw, I have ALWAYS wanted a sharpei!!! Ever since I figured out that they were the kind of dog in that one brand of laundry detergent (the name of the brand is escaping me…) I have wanted one!

      Oh, and it’s not a blender. It’s a food processor! Kitchen Aid 14cup w/ a 4cup mini bowl embedded in it. Got it for $99 bucks at Macy’s over the summer. I use it pretty much every day. BEST PURCHASE EVER! Yep, that pretty much sums up how I feel about it..

  21. thank you for the super sweet comment you left me, and the ‘roll addition. 🙂

    Your eyes…are so blue…and gorgeous..just have to let you know they’re beautiful!

  22. I haven’t been able to see Lion King yet but I love musicals! You must see Wicked though. Make it your next trip. 😉

  23. Jen

    I LOVE the Lion King on Broadway. Growing up so close to NYC, I saw a lot of Broadway shows and this one was always one of my faves. Looks like you had a great mini getaway 🙂

  24. Oh this makes me miss Chapel Hill.

  25. ::sigh:: I wish my Husband was a planner like me – he’s always late, I’m always early. So together, we make an on time person. I always tell him we’re leaving 15 minutes earlier than we are. It just works out better that way.

  26. Pingback: Oh, Happy Day! | Happy Tales

Leave a Reply

