TGIF. Except…not.

Where oh wheeeere has this week gone?! Can it really be Friday already?! Seriously! I think I need to hit the pause button… or rather, the rewind button.

https://i0.wp.com/www.tiresias.org/images/rewind.jpg

Dear Mother Nature, Please add more hours to my day. Sincerely, Slacky the Slackinator.

Each Monday I always sit down and make a list of the things I need to accomplish by the week’s end, and this week I have been majorly slackin’!

(Well, kind of.)

Let’s take a look.

Yesterday I had every intention to review all of the presentations, textbook readings and homework problems for my biostats course, but…somehow the ruler of the universe planted the idea in my head that I needed to CLEAN! And ooooh boy did I clean! (Actually, I think I can blame my urge on Kath’s “Home Neat Home” series…)

Needless to say, I marched into the guestroom (with the Happster pouncin’ at my heels) and took everything out of the closet as well as my own closet and storage bins and attempted to organize and sort through it all. It was a great success and I feel so much better knowing that I’m one step closer to having a home that is not filled with materialistic fluff. (Please note that I only said *one* step closer…)

Unfortunately, not everything that I’m keeping has made it’s way back into said areas in a neat and orderly fashion [and trust me, there ain’t no way I’m puttin’ that stuff back without making sure it’s 1) needed and 2) organized]. My attention span got the best of me (read: very short, almost non-existent) and after about 2 hours of cleaning/organizing I decided to take Happy out on a run. Seven miles later I returned with a pup still full of energy (seriously, what is this dog made of?! sugar?) and to some neatly organized piles (some are going to Goodwill and others are waiting to find their designated spot in the closet).  At least all the stuff I wanted to trash is now outta the apartment!  If you can’t already tell, organizing always makes me feel good Smile

https://i0.wp.com/www.homeandfamilynetwork.com/uploads/post/large/img740.jpg

Yeah, I *wish* this were my closet!

Anywho, today I will be successful at focusing on my biostats! I received my second test via email yesterday (this baby is worth 20% of my entire course grade!) so I really need to sit down with the material and make sure I have the concepts down.  Caitlin (from Healthy Tipping Point)  invited me to join her at Starbucks later this afternoon, it’ll be my first blogger-meet up! I think the change in scenery will help me focus (HA who am I kidding, I’ll probably chat the whole time, buuuut…at least it will prevent me from spending more time cleaning).  First, though, I’ll be heading to the local public librizzle  to pick up Food Inc.! I got an email the other day letting me know that it is finally my turn to borrow it from the library. I requested to borrow this documentary back in August… I’d say it’s about time!

Anywho, I’m glad I at least got some things accomplished yesterday that I’ve been wanting to do since the beginning of the New Year… they just weren’t exactly things that needed to be done this week. A little spontaneity never hurts, though…especially if it leads to home improvement Smile

Do any of y’all utilize your public libraries?! Ryan and I use ours all the time. I love to get novels and cookbooks, and Ryan likes to borrow audiobooks so he can listen to stories on his drive to and from work. He’s probably “read” over 8 books this way! I’ve also done the whole e-book thing and downloaded all 4 books from the Twilight series and listened to them on my ipod while running. I highly recommend “reading” books this way!

*Bonus Question*!!! Does anyone else feel productive by just having your work/schoolwork laid out on the table in front of you? I like to think that having the books *open* out in front of me counts for something. Isn’t having it out half the battle? Now I just gotta make my eyes (and head) focus…

34 Comments

Filed under food revolution, goals, out and about, school

34 responses to “TGIF. Except…not.

  1. Have fun with Caitlin!

    I used to use my library but haven’t gotten a card since I moved. I need to! I have a bad habit of buying TONS and TONS of books. I have a giant to-read pile. I need to switch to the library!

  2. Have fun meeting Caitlin! 🙂 Her blog is great and so is yours! I feel productive by just having my work/schoolwork laid out on the table in front of me… it makes me think i’m being a good student lol! I really should start reading more! any good reccomendations for a romance story that’s not too cheesy

    • Haaa glad I’m not the only one! Hmm… I’ll think on a book suggestion for you. I always love the Nicholas Sparks books.. but they are *super* cheesy… so that’s a no-go for you!

  3. I’m a book junkie, and buy myself books as little presents all the time. We have many filled bookshelves at my house… mostly filled by me. T has some, but I have lots more. I’m definitely a book collector. For that reason, I don’t utilize the library all that often. Occasionally I will check out a cookbook or two, to see if I REALLY want it… but yeah, usually, I just end up buying it.

    Btw… Food, Inc is great. T and I watched it on Netflix instant last summer.

    ~

    • I loooove borrowing cookbooks from the library. You’re right, though… it does make me want to go out and just buy ’em. I have a ton of bookshelves already on my shelves… too. I couldn’t imagine how many more I’d have if it weren’t for the library!

  4. ahaha. yes, opening up the books and work is half the battle. I completely agree. 😉

    p.s. I would also KILL to have that closet!

  5. That closet is a dream!!
    I don’t use my library, I’m sensing is less of a UK thing, I tend to buy them on Amazon and pile them up in my cupboards in the hope one day I’ll have an amazing bookshelf to show them off on 🙂

    • Huh, how interesting! I guess it totally would depend on where you’re from/the quaility of the public library system…

      and I’m sure you’ll have an amazing collection to show off one day 🙂

  6. Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

    I am in serious need of a good closet clean out. I have so many clothes that I don’t wear anymore but I get nervous about donating them to goodwill.

  7. Have a great time at the meet-up! This week zoomed for me too!

  8. Have fun at your blogger meet up!

    I haven’t used the public library in years, but I intend to start using it more this year for sure. 🙂

  9. Morgan @ Becoming Rooks

    I don’t have a lot of room for books so I love the library because I can take them back when I am done! Admittedly, I don’t read that much fiction though. I mostly get health, cooking or photography books.

  10. Janene

    I know how you feel about having books open. One of my profs in grad school always joked that even though printing out all of our articles felt like quite the accomplishment, we did actually have to read them, too. Bummer. 😉

    • Lol, that’s pretty funny… I actually get a sense of accomplishment once I open up a document in a pdf file or print it off of the computer. It’s one step closer to be reading it….which is one step closer to me being done!!

  11. Oh girl, I love our public library! I use it ALL the time!

  12. OMG I am ALWAYS in the public library (part of what I would LOVE to do after I’m done with my grad program) getting books and just needing to get work done! I find it so calming and a safe haven for me. Love your blog girl! PS that closet would be to DIE for!

  13. Laura @ Backstage Pass

    My goodness, that closet would be a dream to have! I think it’s the size of most rooms in our house though 🙂
    Hope that you had fun with Caitlin!

  14. G

    I can totally relate; my school books are always laid out! Even what I am watching TV, I have my books on my lap. In my mind, this counts as work! lol

  15. I just found your blog via Caitlin and I’ve enjoyed reading a bunch of your posts so much! Looking forward to following you 🙂
    P.S. Book stores and libraries own my soul. I adore them!

  16. I was reading along and I got to the closet picture. I was feeling totally jealous until I read your comment below.

    I just joined my local library today. I moved here a few months ago and never got around to it, but I’ve really been craving some books on tape, so I finally got around to visiting.

    • LOL!!!! I know, i seriously wish that were my closet… one day!!

      So glad you joined your librizzle! You’ll love the books on tape. And make sure to check out e-books, too! You can download ’em from your computer at home, no need to even stop into the library! Just have your card handy. Nothing beats that…

  17. Gretchen

    I’ll be excited to hear what you thought of Food Inc! It definitely changed my eating habits.. not that I hadn’t heard some of it before, but it pushed me to change a little more.

  18. Pingback: Simplicity at it’s finest | Happy Tales

  19. Pingback: Oh, Happy Day! | Happy Tales

Leave a Reply

