Reality Check

Have y’all ever felt like you needed a weekend to recoup from… your weekend?

Well, that’s pretty much how I’ve been feeling this entire week so far (hence, the slackage on posts). We got back from Asheville on Monday afternoon, and ever since, it has been go-go-go!

Case in point: Turning in my third biostatistics test by the Tuesday, 8AM deadline.

No biggie, right?

After all, we did get back in town early Monday afternoon… so that should’ve given me plenty of time to turn in an online test, right?! I sure would hope so! Especially since I had already completed over half of the questions already.

Let me explain to you how these tests work. Well, my professor emails out the test (via word document) the Thursday before it’s due (they’re always due on a Tuesday). This gives us plenty of time to finish up studying the material and allows for us to take the test according to our own schedules. Normally, I like to have the material mastered by at least Fri/Sat, and have the test done and over with by Sunday. Going to Asheville didn’t exactly allow for this, though, so I put off the majority of the actual test-taking until we got back. No big deal.

I was able to study for the test a bit over the weekend, and got most of the questions answered for part 1 on our drive back to Charlotte on Monday. However, my professor does not provide all of the test questions at one time. The second section of the test becomes available only when you login to the UNC system to “turn-in” your answers for the first section. At this point, you only have “one shot” at answering the remaining questions and turning in the test (you are locked out of the test once you sign-out of the system). Needless to say, you want to make sure you have a good internet connection.

After taking some time to unpack and get organized, I settled into “homework mode” and got busy finishing up the first section of test #3. The material for this unit was a bit hard for me to grasp, as it covered concepts of probability, and in all of the math courses I have taken… probability was never exactly my “thing.” Well, 11PM rolled around and I finally felt like I had all of the questions answered for the first section of the test and I felt ready to log-in and start the second section, so I opened up my computer and logged into the UNC system. Except, it didn’t let me log in.  Um, what? Come again?

https://i0.wp.com/raymond.cc/images/google502error.gif

You've got to be kidding me...

I know, I know…woe is me. I probably sound like *the* biggest snob…sitting here and complaining about not having an internet connection (because really, there are SO MANY bigger things that are way worse than not being able to turn in an assignment…) But at the time, I was pretty frustrated. I mean, out of ALL of the nights for the internet to crap out, it turned out to be a night I was trying to log-in and turn in a test. So what did I do? I walked into the bedroom with tears and frustration in my eyes, and stood there hoping that Ryan would magically wake up and make things better. And that is exactly what happened. When Ryan sensed I was upset, he immediately jumped out of bed to help me. (Seriously, do I not have the best boyfriend in the entire world?)

We spent a few hours (yes, hours… we are stubborn and refuse to let the internet gods beat us) trying to troubleshoot the internet router… and nothing we did worked. Seeing as it was getting later and later into the night, I became even more crabby and frustrated. I just wanted to log-in to the test, turn in the questions I had already answered, and answer the new questions I hadn’t yet seen. I threw myself a pretty big pity-party on the couch and looked up at Ryan and asked him “does this mean the internet is down all over the world?” Ryan smiled. I don’t think it registered in my head that Ryan was using his blackberry (ahem, the internet…) to look up places that had Wi-Fi. When the light bulb went on in my head and I realized Ryan was surfing the web on his blackberry, I couldn’t help but laugh at the ridiculousness of my question. (I mean really now, could I be any more dramatic?) Thank goodness he loves me.

The only issue with the potential Wi-Fi spots we were looking to hit-up was the fact that my laptop battery is not too powerful, and I was afraid my laptop would die on me before I was finished with the test. So all of the non-24-hour Wi-Fi spots were no longer options. I tried calling a few of my girlfriends to see if I could pop over for an hour to use their connection, but none of them answered their phone (and for good reason! I mean seriously, who calls to come over at 2AM??)

After exhausting all other ideas, Ryan and I hopped in the car and tried to hunt down any type of 24-hour spot (because I needed an electrical outlet for my laptop) that would have Wi-Fi.  We tried the local McDonalds, Starbucks and a few other promising places…but they were all closed. I knew Ryan needed sleep, so I finally convinced him that I’d be okay to continue the search on my own. So after stopping by home so Ryan could catch some shut-eye, (more like a power-nap) before work, I got in my car and headed over to Amelies, a French bakery in NoDa that I remembered hearing about.

https://i2.wp.com/www.charlotteuptown.info/images/Food/amelies_noda.jpg

Saved the day (er...night.)

https://i0.wp.com/media.charlotteobserver.com/smedia/2011/01/20/19/cult_of_amelies_008.embedded.prod_affiliate.138.jpg

Welcome to my new office

I had heard rumors that this bakery prides itself on being open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, and when I pulled into the parking lot, I found that I was right! So at 3:45AM I settled myself into a nice little table, got all of my papers organized and whipped out my honker of a TI-83 calculator and got to work on finishing up the test. I was outta there by 4:45, and finally “went to bed” at 5AM. Needless to say, Tuesday at work was an absolutely blur, and I have been playing “catch-up” on sleep ever since. Oh, and I got my grade back on the test… got a 75%… not exactly proud of that, but at least I passed! (And I’m hoping the 91% and 97% I got on my first two tests will help average out this score… we’ll see!)

Have any of you ever had the internet crap out when you needed it most? Or have you ever realized you were overreacting and being ridiculous over something that really wasn’t that big of a deal? Who else is counting down the seconds for the weekend??! I know I am!

Oh, and for the record, I talked to one of the friends that I was trying to contact for an internet booty-call,  and she said that her internet had crapped out during that same timeframe, too! So my guess is it was an internet outage through Time Warner Cable. Lovely.

29 Comments

Filed under Ashville, school, Travel

29 responses to “Reality Check

  1. ughh, I HATE that! I’ve had problems with my Cox internet for about a month now. I almost never have it at home when I need it! gotta love Panera’s free wi-fi. 🙂

  2. That kind of thing always happens with the WORST timing, doesn’t it? So glad you were able to turn in your test on time, and I’m sure the first 2 grades will balance out the 3rd!

  3. Hahaha does this mean the internet is down all over the world?! I once had to re-type a paper in the library (seriously) because my internet at home was down (I’d typed it on my laptop) and I had no way of transferring it (my jump drive stopped working shortly before this, and my computer hasn’t been able to connect to Furman’s network for a year now)….talk about frustrating.

  4. That’s just the way it is, isn’t it? It tends to happen to us when we are doing our taxes or purchasing plane tickets… oh yeah. Fun stuff.
    Glad you got it all sorted out… Amelies to save the day!

    ~

  5. A bakery open 24 hrs – can I move there please? 🙂

  6. Oh my goodness that is the scariest thing ever, the unreliability is why I hate online classes but I still love them at the same time there’s so many benefits to them!

  7. Oh my gosh! That sounds sooooo stressful. Glad you were eventually able to find a connection and finish the test!

  8. omg i couldn’t help but laugh over your post, not because it was ‘funny’ but because I DO THE SAME THING! My internet has been RIDICULOUS at my house as well and I had to run around town trying to find a place open so I could finish a few things for a paper that was due the following day. I tend to always ‘freak out’ for the little things but thank goodness for the boyfriend too who ALWAYS brings me back to reality 🙂 love! xo

    • Ahhh can i tell you how much I love that you can relate to this?!?! Glad you are able to embrace the rediculousness, too! (And no worries, reading over my post makes me laugh, too!)

  9. I know exactly what you mean about needing a break after your weekend! I’m so glad you got everything worked out–I would have been freaking out!!

  10. Aww, I’m so glad that cafe was open! Way to save the day. 🙂

  11. When I was at UNC as an undergrad, all people in the same class (all sophomores) had to register for class at the same time. The server would always get overloaded and crash. You could hear people screaming at their computers down the hall in the dorms. People would by crying. It was nerve racking to say the least. So glad you got your test over with and passed! 🙂

    • Oh my goodness, this story cracked me up!! That sounds soooo stressful! Registration at Furman was never that stressful for me, but I had a pretty good “in” with my professors

  12. Rhonda

    Wow, what an ordeal! I hope you, Ryan, and Happy get lots of catch-up rest this weekend. Sure did enjoy spending last weekend with you guys. 🙂

  13. Pingback: Simplicity at it’s finest | Happy Tales

  14. Pingback: An Ode to my Momma | Happy Tales

  15. Pingback: It’s all Fun & Games | Happy Tales

  16. Pingback: When Hard Work Pays Off | Happy Tales

Leave a Reply

