My ABC’s

So I’ve seen this little survey floating around on the blogworld and because I have yet to sit down and go through pictures from our Asheville trip this past weekend… I figured I’d entertain you with some ABCs of me! (BTW, our Asheville trip was SO MUCH FUN! and I promise I’ll recap the trip in the near future)…

So without further ado, here are the ABC’s of me!

 

A: Age: 25 (typing that out makes me feel so old…)

B: Bed size: Queen. With lots of pillows. Except, I don’t like to actually use the pillows when I sleep… I know, weird right? I sleep best on my tummy (or curled up in a ball on my side). I find using a pillow throws off the alignment in my back, sometimes making me sore. The only time I really use a pillow is if I’m on my side. As far as sleeping like a normal person goes…I can never ever fall asleep sleeping on my back. My mind races and refuses to turn off. Maybe its the lack of oxygen from sleeping on my stomach that makes me fall asleep so much easier?  ha!

C. Chore you hate: Hmm. maybe dusting? When it requires moving everything off a surface, dusting the surface, dusting all the little things, then rearranging..it adds up to be a lot.

D. Dogs: I am SUCH  a dog person! I grew up with dogs. When I was a little wee one, (read: less than 6months old) my family had a blacklab named Flowerpot. Immediately after Flowerpot came another blacklab, Poppy. Poppy and I were the same age and I have such a soft spot in my heart for her. She died when I was 12 years old (2 weeks shy of my 13th bday), and I was completely heartbroken. Right around my 13th birthday, though, my family got the CUTEST little ball of white fluff– a Bichon Frise named Chance. My mom named her Chance  because we were “taking a chance” by buying her from a breeder over in Oklahoma. The first time we ever saw her was when she came off of the delta airplane around midnight (after missing her connecting fight in Texas). Chance died suddenly three years ago this March, and I was heartbroken over the loss. (I am a firm believer that pets truly become a part of the family!) My Mom got a new Bichon Frise puppy, Bella, that June… but I’ve missed a lot of the “growing up” stages since I only get to see her when I go home to visit. That’s okay, though… because now Ryan and I have our own puppy, Happy! And you all know how obsessed with her I am  🙂

E. Essential start to your day: Checkin’ the weather. I love knowing what the hourly forecast is going to do. Oh, and of course turning on some tunes to jam to while I get ready.

F. Favorite color: Blue! Every and any shade of it. Reminds me of the ocean and the beach…a place I find oh-so-relaxing and therapeutic.

G. Gold or silver: I’m a silver girl through and through. Definitely goes better with my skin complexion (read: white as a ghost). My mom, however, prefers gold…so it is starting to grow on me (especially now that she has started passing down some of her pieces Smile )

H: Height: Over 5′  6″   (Tall, lanky genes run in my family… my [half]-brother is 6’5” !)

I: Instruments that you can play: The piano. Except that’s kind of stretching the truth. I can only play one song, and that’s Canon in D. But that is kind of a lie, too… I honestly don’t know how to play it, my fingers have it memorized and just sort of “do their thing” whenever I sit down at a piano. I took lessons for like, a year total, and I only learned memorized that one song. Amazingly, it has stuck with me (thank you, muscle memory!)

J: Job title: Health Educator @ the YMCA, graduate student thru Chapel Hill’s online distance learning program and doggy-mama to Little Miss Happy.

K: Kids: Zip zero, nada. Focusing on myself for now. One day I want to have a family, though!

L: Live: Charlotte, NC. I moved here after I graduated from Furman University back in 2008. Love this city!  (However, I do miss my hometown of Cincinnati, Ohio – born and raised!)

M: Mom’s name: Annie (she wanted to name me with an “A” name so that we could have the same initials…AWR, kinda neat, huh?)

N: Nicknames: Allie, Al, Rice, Ricecakes, Ricerneener, Riceball, Monkey, Boo, Nanner

O: Overnight hospital stays: Umm… I’m actually not certain on this one! I’m pretty sure I stayed a few nights when I was born (I was due in early January, but I was itchin’ to show my face to the world and wanted to come out at Thanksgiving…the Doc had different plans and put my mom on bedrest, and she was able to give me chillpill until December 10th). Oh, and I had tubes in my ears when I was little, but I’m not sure if that required an overnight stay… too long ago to remember!

P: Pet peeve: Hm. I’d have to say really slow people (walkers/runners) that take up the whole walking/running space when I’m trying to get somewhere. Especially if it’s a group of people and they’re walking in a huge wall-like cluster! Ugh, drives me nuts! (I mean really, my middle name isn’t “Walker” for nothing).

Q: Quote from a movie: Dory: Hey there, Mr. Grumpy Gills. When life gets you down do you wanna know what you’ve gotta do? Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming, swimming, swimming. What do we do? We swim, swim. (From Finding Nemo, only one of the best movies everrrr!)

R: Righty or lefty: Righty

S: Siblings: Seven. But they are all step- and half-siblings. (Sidenote: I am from my mother’s second marriage [out of three], and my father’s second marriage [out of 4]). I actually used to have nine siblings, but my dad got divorced (from his third marriage) about 10 years ago and brought that number down to six. He actually just got remarried (4th marriage) this past December, so now I’m back up to seven siblings. I am the youngest of all of my siblings by a landslide (I believe the next in line is 12 years older than me). I only have one “true” half brother, as we share the same dad. My mom adopted three kids in her first marriage, and I am her only biological child (she had me when she turned 40…and says that I keep her young!) My stepdad (mom’s third marriage) has two children. Since all of my siblings are grown and have families of their own, I have garnered 10 nieces and nephews (and an 11th is on the way!) Let’s just say Christmas time get’s rather busy Smile

T:Time you wake up: Depends on the day. I am pretty easy to get out of bed, though… I’d say you could definitely call me a “morning person.” On the other hand, I do love my sleep and welcome opportunities to sleep in Smile

U: Underwear: Boyshorts. So, so comfortable!

V: Vegetables you dislike: Beets. Yick.

W: What makes you run late: Waiting until the last minute to get ready… I’m pretty low maintenance, so it doesn’t take me a long time to get ready once I’ve started the process. Oh, and making sure Happy has been taken out to go potty.

X: X-rays: Oh goodness. I can’t even count. I had some done when I was little to check for broken bones (fell out a few trees, slammed my arm in a door… but somehow I escaped ever having a broken bone, knock on wood…) I also had a few X-rays done back in college for an injury (had some MRI’s done for that, too). Oh, and of course I can’t forget to count the dozens of X-rays from the dentist office… (I do have an implant, after all [the tooth kind…lost my last molar at age 20 and the dentist had to put in a fake molar, aka an implant, so my other teeth wouldn’t move around. My mom actually still has her baby molar, apparently it’s a genetic thing]).

Y: Yummy food you make: Hummus!!! Homemade potato chips, banana soft serve, rutabaga crisps…

Z: Zoo favorite animal: I actually don’t really like the zoo. I always feel so bad for the animals. But I must admit, watching the penguins waddle around always makes me smile. They’re just so darn cute!

Now tell me some ABC’s about you!! What is your biggest pet-peeve? What causes you to run late? Any ambidextrous folks out there?!

22 Comments

Filed under my story

22 responses to “My ABC’s

  1. a) thank you for going above and beyond what i’ve seen a lot of lately, and not simply giving 2 words answers to each and every question.

    b) your family FASCINATES ME. It sounds AWESOME and I am sure you have LOTS of interesting “growing up” stories with so many (much) older siblings!

    c) I LOVE LOVE LOVED the Canon in D story. made me chuckle.

    d) do most people call you Allie? should i?

    • Canon in D will probably always be my favorite piano song 🙂 I hope my fingers will always remember it… And yes, my family is very interesting and ever-evolving, seems like there’s a new member every few months! Allison is just fine, only my family calls me Allie (mom, stepdad, dad etc)… even Ryan calls me Allison! I think the only time my mom calls me “Allison” is if I’m in trouble….hearing her say my full name was always bad news bears.

  2. I love Finding Nemo!!! That quote is great!

  3. 1) You are NOT old.
    2) I LOVE the Nemo quote!!
    3) I absolutely agree with Heather – thanks for making each question a little story 🙂

    Also, you are so lucky to have grown up with dogs! I have always been a dog lover, but my mom is allergic so I never had my own dog until a couple of years ago 😦 …..this might also be why she is so incredibly spoiled….. 🙂

  4. biggest pet peeve? hmmm… I think rudeness and selfishness tie for first.

    aaanndd, I hafta let you know I awarded you a very special blog award, Allie!

    Check out your award tagged at my NEEEWW domain (yay!) … http://lifeofblyss.wordpress.com/2011/02/24/my-first-blog-award/

  5. Loved hearing your answers!!! My biggest pet peeve is when people smack their lips eating or chewing gum! Drives me insane!!

  6. I did this a few days ago too. So fun! 😀 I also don’t like to use pillows when I sleep. :/ I have a really really flat one with a silk pillowcase but I end up throwing it off the bed in my sleep. haha.

  7. my mom and i have the same initials too and middle name ha- CEM. (Cathy Elisabeth Manock & Caitlin Elisabeth Manock) Weird part is- I found out the way Caitlin is spelled in Galic, which is the Irish language, means Cathering)..clearly I’m named after my mother haha

    • Whoa, that is SO cool!!! If I ever have a little girl, I hope to name her with a name that starts with an “A” (as long as the hubs is “A-okay” with it) <– haaaaaa I kill myself.

  8. I’m so glad to see other people have some crazy families, too! I feel like it would have a page to explain my siblings! Blogging causes me to run late some mornings! and forgetting I need to stop and get gas!

    • Ugh, I hate filling my car up with gas! Fortunately everything I need in Charlotte is pretty close together (work/friends/grocery/fun places/library/bank/postoffice) so I never drive around all that much. I fill up my tank about every month and a half or so… it’s so nice!

  9. Oh my goodness, your “B” is identical to mine!! Seriously! Right down to the fact that I only use a pillow if I’m sleeping on my side. Every bit of it. Love it!

    I love that you’re tall like me! That makes me so happy. I’m pretty sure I have the shortest friends, haha!

    Wow your sibling thing sounds similar to mine. Though we don’t have quite as many remarriages. There were 18 of us kids, but after yet another divorce, the number is back down to 10 siblings. I grew up with 4 siblings in the same house with me so those are the siblings I talk about the most. 🙂

    • Ahhhh too funny that you are the same with pillows! And I loooove that you have a big family, too! And I totally know what you mean, I am one of the “tall” ones outta my group of friends, too! haha

  10. Natalia

    My favorite letter to read about was D! I am such a huge dog person (cats creep me out, I think it’s their eyes). I’ve only had one dog and he is def part of our family (I have been known to refer to him as my brother)!

    I agree with your pet-peeve, it’s a huge problem for me around campus. I mean really, if you’re going to walk that slowwwwwwwwww and take up the whole freaking sidewalk you will get on my nerves. End of discussion. I have classes to get to people, so don’t be surprised if I push you out of the way 😉

    I also hate when you do something nice for someone (example, hold open a door) and they walk by without thanking you. Almost like they expected you to do it for them regardless. And when people crack their fingers, ick.

  11. Pingback: The ABC’s of ABB « Musings of a violet monkey

  12. Love this 🙂 family is a crazy thing…I have 4 siblings due to divorce & remarriage making me the middle child but happy to say without taking on the stereotypical middle child syndrome 😉 very fortunate to have grown very close to my step-sister & half brother in addition to my sister…LOVE having them in my life!

    I LoVe hummus but have never made it… any tips you can share?

Leave a Reply

