Oh, Happy Day!

Ohhh boy oh boy, does the HappyTales household ever have news for you!

Okay, so you know how Ryan and I thought Happy was a terrier/border collie mix since, ohhh, you know… the day we got her?

DSCF2353

Hold up, what do you mean?!?!

Yeah, well, NEWSFLASH! turns out we were most likely 95% wrong. (I hope this doesn’t make us bad parent’s…)

DSCF1776

No really, please explain before I have an *identity crisis!!!*

Yes, Happy is most likely still a mix. And yes, she proooobably still has some border collie and terrier in her, but holy WOW did we ever get a surprise when we visited this new indoor doggie-play yard, GoodDog, in NoDa, last week!

DSCF2462

A little slice of doggie heaven…

DSCF2473

Don’t mind if we do!

The owner (Shawn) of this agility wonder-land sure does know her stuff. Within 10 minutes of chatting with us, she had us convinced that Happy is, in fact, a BASENJI mix!!!

Check out the evidence…

I present to you, a picture of a Basenji:

https://i0.wp.com/www.freewebs.com/glendawnbasenji/basenji%20003.JPG

"Exhibit A"

1 http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcScZO2psSPbP8D_beEozT9FwHEnhL3sRhjTf3IpcSFrHrrGRoixLA&t=

A long-lost cousin?

“Basenjis are small, elegant-looking, short-haired dogs with erect ears, a tightly curled tail and a graceful neck. Some people consider their appearance similar to that of a miniature deer. The basenji is alert, affectionate, energetic, curious and reserved with strangers. The basenji is somewhat aloof, but can also form strong bonds with people and can become emotionally attached to a single human.  It is commonly patient, and does best with older considerate handlers. Basenjis dislike wet weather, like to climb, can easily get over chain wire fences and are very clever at getting their own way. The basenji has the unique properties of not barking (it makes a low, liquid ululation instead) and cleaning itself like a cat. It can be described as speedy, frisky, tireless at play, and teasing the owner into play. Basenjis often stand on their hind legs, somewhat like a meerkat, by themselves or leaning on something; this behavior is often observed when the dog is curious about something.  Basenjis reveal their animal-of-prey nature by chasing after fast moving objects that cross their paths. The basenji is arguably one of the most ancient dog breeds. Originating on the continent of Africa, basenji-like dogs have lived with humans for thousands of years. Dogs resembling modern basenjis can be seen on stelae in the tombs of Egyptian pharaohs, sitting at the feet of their masters, looking just as they do today, with pricked ears and tightly curled tails. These local dogs, which Europeans identified the basenji as a unique breed and they were prized by locals for their intelligence, courage, speed, and silence.” Thank you, Wikipedia.

https://i1.wp.com/www.deviantart.com/download/192543756/egyptian_dog__by_zanture_angel-d36mvpo.jpg

Walks like an Egyptian...

Oh my word. Soooo much of that is true for Happy! Not only is she clever, affectionate, and a climber…but she typically refrains from barking (er…howling) as well.

DSCF2397

Herro. My name is Happy, and I like to climb (and perch) on the top of the couch

She also hates going out in the rain, and she stands and walks on her hind legs all the time! I kid you not, this dog has walked from our house to the parking lot, all on her hind legs, multiple times. It both amazes me and cracks me up every single time. Ryan has even gotten her to “hop” across the room like this. I really need to catch it on video so y’all can see what I’m talking about…

happysnow

hippity hoppity on my tippy toes

DSCF1752

I move at the speed of lightening!

DSCF2230

Yes, even indoors!

So yes, the mystery has finally been solved, and we are pretty dang sure that Happy is a basenji  mix!

DSCF2438

Don’t be sad, Happs, we’ll love ya whatever you are!

We ❤ love<3 our little basenji Smile

Have y’all ever heard of the basenji breed before? For those of you who have mixed breeds, do you know what the mix is?

27 Comments

Filed under Oh, Happy Day!

27 responses to “Oh, Happy Day!

  1. Mixes are always interesting, and it’s fun to see the different aspects of who they are come out as they age. I’ve never heard of a basenji before, but the description sounds like a great dog!

  2. That’s interesting! A lot of those features describe Roxie too, and she has the stick straight up ears which most Border Collie’s don’t. She also cleans herself like a cat (I assume this means licking? I figured all dogs did this…), goes up on her hind legs to see things, and is relatively quiet. She didn’t bark for months when we first got her and now she’ll only bark if someone is at the front door, and even then it’s only 2-3 barks.

    Hmmm, lots to think about! 🙂

  3. New to your blog, and we have a basenji mix, too! We think probably basenji/lab, since he’s bigger than a standard basenji, but me has a curly tale and makes all sorts of funny yodeling sounds. My husband found him abandoned on the side of the road in New Mexico when he was a puppy, and the two have been attached at the hip every since. We actually have a border collie mix, too 🙂

    • OH my goodness, I’m so glad your husband took in the pup!!! Aren’t mixes the best?! So neat that you have a border collie mix, too! I bet they are both just SO much fun! Oh, and thanks for stopping by! I hope you come back for more 🙂

  4. aw, such a cute, no matter what she is… but how fun if you actually know (and there are many basenji similarities!) .. has she been through the agility course? basil would have a field day in there!! 😀

    • she ran through the tunnels a few times and jumped over the little jumps, and she even did the teeter totter twice! We’ve been back another time as well, and she was rearin’ to go! She is definitely capable of doing the course if we trained her for it… don’t know if we will though. We just like watchin’ her have fun 🙂

  5. That is so cool! She definitely looks like a Basenji. My dog has some sort of mix in her but I have no idea what it is. Everyone that sees her says she looks like something different. She also hates going out in the rain which I had never seen in a dog before…so I’m glad there are others!

    • Haaaa i love when i hear there are other dogs who hate the rain just as much as Happy 🙂 I seriously love mixes, I think it’s so fun knowing that each dog is unique 🙂

  6. I totally know what a Basenji is! Christopher and I actually talked about getting one for a little while, but ended up adopting Oreo since we just so fell in love with him. Basenjis are great dogs, though and I SO want to see a video of Happy hopping around on her two feet! 🙂

    Oreo is a boxer/pit/dalmatian mix of varying degrees. We love him no matter what he is, though! 😀

    • Aw, I had no idea y’all were considering a Basenji!! Even more reason for us to all hang together. Y’all need to meet my little basenji! I really do think she and Oreo would have a ball…

  7. Our dog, Poco, who we had for about 12 years was a Basenji mix 🙂 They’re so fun, energetic and friendly!

  8. I’ve never heard of that! All I know is… Happy is a cutey patooty!

  9. Really wish there was an indoor play park by me… Our only outdoor dog park just closed permanently. Looks like its time for some agility trials for Happy 🙂

  10. Aww…what a little cutie! Just found your blog and love it!

  11. This is so cute! I’ve always wanted to take my dog to obedience school where I could learn to actually make them jump through hoops. Haha. but I guess my goldens might be a little too big!

  12. Pingback: Simplicity at it’s finest | Happy Tales

  13. Haha, that’s funny! I actually know someone with a Basenji and she looks different from Happy, but it’s probably the mix. That’s cool that you learned more about her though!!

  14. Pingback: Oh, Happy Day! | Happy Tales

Leave a Reply

