An Ode to my Momma

Well well well, I sure have been missing from the blogosphere these past few days! Life has been quite busy over here in the HappyTales household…work, puppy, school, play, marathon training and good ‘ole living and breathing. My nose has been buried in the books these past few days, as I’m currently in the midst of a monstrous biostatistics test. I feel a lot of pressure to do well on this one (…especially since we all know how much of a disaster the last one was, ha!

Anyway, I thought I’d take a break from the craziness that is my life right now and update the good ole’ bloggy blog… because you know why? Today is a big day! Not only did I run my 5th half marathon this morning, but I also set a new personal distance record (PDR)! Yep, that’s right, I ran further than the 17 miles I did this past weekend, and it felt goooood!

This morning I woke up at the asscrack of dawn and squeezed in a 5 mile run before the race started. I’ll tell ya, crossing that finish line after 18 miles never felt SO good! (I’ll be doing a recap post on this in the next few days).

But that’s not the main reason why today is a big day. Nope, there’s something even more special about today.

Today is my momma’s BIRTHDAY!!! That’s right, Momma Rice turns the big 65 today!! (Don’t worry, she’s not ashamed of her age… she says I keep her youngSmile)

My mother at her Debutante Ball, circa 1963

mi madre

Anyone see a resemblance b/w me and my momma?

Three generations of Walker women, Circa 1987ish (Check out the one sole curl in the middle of my forehead…)

mi familia 3 generations

Ohhhhh yes, I’m proud to be an 80s baby!

Annnnnd let’s hear it for the present-day…

DSCF0290

Ryan, Momma Rice and me, September 2010

DSCF1497

Christmas morning, 2010

DSCF1496

Show-n-tell with “Annie’s Oasis”

I don’t even know where to begin… I could rave about my mother for days on end. She really is that special of a person. My mom is the most amazing (and beautiful) woman I know. She is full of creativity and has *the* most vibrant personality you will ever come across. Her laugh, in a word, is contagious… and I can spend hours upon hours listening to and laughing at stories from her past. My mother has been through quite  bit, more than the average woman I’d say, but all of those hardships have made her into the strong woman she is today. If she hadn’t seen all of that hardship, I would not be here today.

To sum up a very complex and long story… my mom married very young after receiving her 2year associates degree.  She and her first husband adopted 3 children and moved all around the country many times for his ministry career. After she found out he was having an affair, a nightmare of divorce, custody battles and endless court hearings ensued. After an expensive and heart-wrenching custody battle, she ended up losing custody of her three children and they went to live with her ex-husband (a very wealthy man)  in a different state (it’s pretty sickening how money can  literally “buy” anything…)and he essentially refused to let the kids see her. This pattern went on for years, despites my moms tireless efforts to build a relationship with her kids. She’d go to the airport only to find the last person walking off the plane, none of her kids in site. She’d frantically call up to NY and ask her ex-husband if she had the wrong flight number and he’d respond “oh, is it time for me to send them down for a weekend to see you again? Must have forgotten… we’ll try again next month.” It truly breaks my heart to hear the pain in my moms voice (to this day) when she reflects on those years. She has been through a lot. More than I think I could ever bear.

At age 37 she was alone, in a new city, and had seemingly lost everything important to her. Then she met my dad, fell in love, got married and went back to school to obtain her bachelors degree. At 39, she graduated with her hard earned degree, and became overjoyed when she received the news that she was pregnant with her first biological child, me.

So… to make a long story short, my mom basically started her life over at the age of 40. I am the first, and only, child that she has raised fully. She now has a relationship with her first three kids, but she missed some very formative and important years in their lives that she’ll never be able to get back. I have met my “half-siblings” a handful of times throughout my life, and they are some of the neatest individuals I have come across. They are all much older and have families of their own, and my mom just *glows* any time she mentions one of her grandkids. (Currently, she has 11 grandchildren… with another one on the way in May!). Suffice it to say, my mom means the world to me, and I’m pretty sure she’d say the same thing about me.

Annnnway, I’d like to share with you all a little something I created for my mom for her birthday when I was studying abroad halfway around the world (literally….) in Australia for a year. By this point, it had been 7 months since I had seen her. That is a LONG time to not hug someone you love. So I thought it’d be neat to create a little “collage” and sent it to her on her birthday via the wonderful world wide web. It was as close as I could get to “being” with her on her birthday…

So without further adieu, I present you with An Ode To My Momma…Circa, 2007! (I’m 21 at the time, and she’s turning 61…. oh my how the time flies!)

IMG_1401

IMG_1403

IMG_1404

IMG_1406

IMG_1407

IMG_1412

IMG_1418

IMG_1420

IMG_1421

IMG_1425

IMG_1426

IMG_1427

And then of course, I have to share the pictures of the presents I brought home to my mom a few months later (I know I know, I could’ve shipped ‘em… but that’s dang expensive when you’re on a  study abroad college student budget!) She loved ‘em all the same when I got home!)

IMG_1431

IMG_1433

IMG_1434

IMG_1435

IMG_1436

Anyway, I am greatly looking forward to this week. My mom and Gerry are driving through Charlotte on their loooooong trek from South Florida to Ohio! They’re “migrating North” for the summer. (Except of course for that little time period when they’ll be back in FL… le sigh). Can’t wait to spend an evening with them on Tuesday, after I serve my jury duty, of course (bleh!)

Are any of you all close with your mom or dad? Have you ever spent an extended period of time away from a loved one? Anyone else have a crazy “modern-family” and have siblings every which way and of all ages?

PS. Looking back on these pictures makes me realize that time period of my life was prrrrrobably the tannest I’ve been!!! So I have to ask, do y’all use sunscreen?! I slather up every single day. Even in the winter! Skin cancer is a huge thing in my fair-skinned family…

20 Comments

Filed under family, half marathon, my story, running, training

20 responses to “An Ode to my Momma

  1. vixter2010

    My mum is the same age as your mum and we’re also close! Enjoy her visit 🙂

  2. Wow, that’s such a neat and precious idea. I’m definitely not very creative when it comes to birthdays. And congrats on your new personal distance!

    • Aw, thank you! My mom loved it back when I did it a few years ago, and then I got a phone call this past Sunday from my mom saying that she read my blog and saw this post… i never knew she read my blog! So i was touched that she saw it. I told her about my blog when i first started it, but she said that “she didn’t do blogs” because she’d rather just catch up on the phone. Needless to say, i’m touched that she pops in every now and then 🙂

  3. Such a great post your mom seems like an amazing person! I’d say i have a pretty Modern Family since my Dad has been married 3 times and my Mom once, although it keeps things interesting I’m hoping to be a one and done girl! My dad is in the army and since my parents are also divorced my whole life has basically been spent away from him but we do have a good relationship and enjoy being with each other whenever we can!

  4. Rhonda

    Such a sweet and wonderful ode to your beautiful mommy, Allison… and I most definitely see a strong resemblance between you two!

    Congrats on doing so well on your 5th half marathon…..love you much!

  5. What a beautiful post!! Happy Birthday to your Mom!

  6. That’s a really sweet message to your mom… I bet it meant so much to her! Happy birthday to her!

    I definitely have a version of the modern family (I like that term :))… six half siblings ranging in age from 7 to 42. I love them all and wouldn’t change it for anything!

    • Ah your family sounds so awesome! And actually, I didn’t even tel my mom that I wrote this post. I was under the impression that she didn’t read blogs because when I started this blog back in Jan and told her about it… she pretty much said that was a silly idea and she wouldn’t read it because she’d rather just catch up with me in person over the phone. Sunday, I got a call from her saying that she was SO touched about the post I had written… I was pretty floored that she saw it! Made me feel good that she liked it 🙂 Maybe now she’ll become a happytales fan, haha

  7. Pingback: Recap of my 18 miler! | Happy Tales

  8. Pingback: It’s all Fun & Games | Happy Tales

  9. Pingback: Sunday Runday: The Flying Pig Marathon!!! | Happy Tales

  10. Pingback: Oh, Happy Day! | Happy Tales

  11. Pingback: The Waiting Game | Happy Tales

  12. Pingback: The Verdict Is In! | Happy Tales

  13. Pingback: Time for a Little Catch-Up | Happy Tales

  14. Pingback: Grateful | Happy Tales

  15. Pingback: Sayonara, Spring…it’s Summer Time! | Happy Tales

Leave a Reply

