When Hard Work Pays Off

Remember when biostatistics kidnapped my soul and I lost touch with the world for a few days? Well, the grades are out, and I must update you all with how I did  because I am just SO stinkin’ proud of myself!

I ended up getting a 95% on that baby… Yep, that’s right. The girl who has not had a biology class since her sophomore year of high school, and who has never had an ounce of statistics in her life…got an “A” on one of the hardest tests involving math, everrrr !!!!

https://happytalesblog.files.wordpress.com/2011/04/yippee.jpg?w=300

I seriously cannot find the words to express how happy this makes me! Getting such a solid grade on this test puts me in an excellent position going into the final exam at the end of April. I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it before, but the final exam goes “live” the weekend of my marathon, so I’ll be on the road and traveling (and possibly without internet??) during the time of the exam. That doesn’t exactly make for the best test-taking situation, but I’ll make do!

Confession: I am majorly type-A (especially when it comes to school-work!) and I refuse to ever let a project/homework assignment/math problem go unsolved without giving it my full-on effort and attention. I will exhaust all ways of working a math problem until I’ve tried everything to my knowledge…and if that doesn’t work, you bet I’ll be seeing the teacher for extra help, and then some.

I love the feeling I get when I “master” a topic or concept, and I especially love teaching other people how to do things once I have the solution figured out. Not only does this reinforce the material in my own head, but it also allows me to help out others who are struggling — a win win! I wouldn’t be a bit surprised if I end up in some sort of teaching profession at some point in time… (heck, I’m already a Health Educator at the Y!).

Moving on!

Let’s recap how I’ve done so far in this class, shall we?

http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcShrkPmxFI5TacoP5hl-tM2Q9DUG4yXRQGM3QfyWm7YgEzy9vlr&t=1

 

Test 1, (5% of total grade): 91% (missed 1 question)

Test 2, (20% of total grade): 97%

Test 3, (10% of final grade): 75% (missed 3 questions)  Yeah. Remember that crazy dream I had where Ryan and I were driving around Charlotte in the wee hours of the morning because our internet crapped out and I had yet to turn in my test before the deadline? Oh wait, that actually happened. In real life.

Discussion Unit 4, (5% of total grade): 100%

Test 5, (10% of total grade): 85% (missed 2 questions)

Test 6, (20% of total grade): 95%

Needless to say, I am doing a LOT better than I expected in this course!!! I have been workin’ my little hiney off to do the best I can, and I can say with complete confidence that I have been giving my all. I am just so pleased to see how much my efforts are paying off!

Ryan, being the smarty-pants that he is in Excel, helped me calculate my overall grade (because let’s face it, my brain can’t handle the simple math it takes to figure it out myself… and he knows how to manipulate Excel and whip out calculations like it ain’t no thang). Turns out, my grade as it stands right now is a 92%!! To say that I am floored is an understatement. I am SO pleased to be going into final with such a strong grade. Makes me feel like I have a nice cushion for my marathon weekend… where who knows how busy we’ll be and how much time I’ll have to dedicate to the final while we are on the road.

In fact, there’s a slight chance that I might get a High Pass for the course (emphasis on the fat chance, though, as it would require me to obtain a 92% on the final… possible, but pretty unlikely). Needless to say, I am perfectly content with just getting a Pass for this course!

Here’s the breakdown of how the graduate school weighs their grades:

High Pass: >92.5%

Pass: 80-92.4%

Low Pass: 75-79.9%

Failure: <74.9%

In all of the other courses I’ve taken so far, I’ve achieved High Passes. I think obtaining one “Pass” won’t kill me, especially if I’ve given my all and it’s the best I can do! This material is haaaard stuff, so I will be grateful for whatever grade I earn Smile

Oh, and to make this post worth your reading, I totally have to share this muscle-shirt picture of Happy.

I present to you… Happy, the badass Personal Trainer

DSCF2247

Way to kick some tail on that biostats test!

Are there any other perfectionists out there who work their tails off to get the best grade possible? I know there are a lot of you out there who struggle with math, just like me… did this ever scare you away from taking any of the “hard-science” courses… such as chemistry, biology, physics etc?

16 Comments

Filed under school

16 responses to “When Hard Work Pays Off

  1. Congrats on that grade!! I’m a type A when it comes to school/tests too. I need everything to be perfect!

  2. Yippeee is right! Congrats on rocking your Biostatistics exam – just the name of the class sounds difficult so I can imagine how hard you worked!! Hard work really does pay off! 🙂

  3. Congrats on the awesome job 🙂 I am trying to the best I can in school and it is harddd!

  4. So glad the hard work, determination and stick-to-it-tiveness (yes that is a word) paid off. You are rocking it!

  5. Congratulations!!! That is awesome!
    I am definitely a perfectionist when it comes to grades…my husband makes fun of me for it because I stress and study and stress for a week before a test, and then I always do alright. 🙂
    Keep up the GREAT work!

  6. One “pass” definitely won’t kill you:) Congratulations on your awesome test grade- all that hard work definitely paid off. Way to go!

  7. Rhonda

    Congratulations, sweetie…. so proud of you 🙂 🙂 🙂

  8. Oh girl, I hear you! Christopher and I were just talking tonight about how the expectation in my family was that we would all make A’s. There was never a question of not excelling, haha! I’m a bit of a perfectionist so I always had to do super well. So yeah, I hear ya! Congrats on rocking this class so far!!

  9. thank you for your sweet blog comment!! congrats on an awesome test score! hard work pays off! 🙂

  10. congrats!!!

    the picture is adorable. I love shirts on pups! Presley runs away when I try to put some on him!

  11. Wow well done, you should be proud!

  12. Katherine: Unemployed

    CONGRATS! smarty pants

  13. congrats on the test! I made good grades in school except math! not my strong suit. I am a perfectionist in some things but not all things, which is good I guess!

  14. Pingback: It’s Not the Size of the Dog in the Fight… | Happy Tales

  15. Pingback: Kennedy’s | Happy Tales

Leave a Reply

