Two And A Half Years

Warning: Get ready to dodge some cheezeballs, as this post is oozing of cheesiness.

Two and a half years

…filled with laughter (NYE 2008)

That’s how long I’ve known this little nut.

DSCF8014

October 23rd, 2008 was quite a good day. And has led to sooo, so many other good days.

Two and a half years ago, I was a volunteer in the AmeriCorps…working my little bee-hind off in 4 jobs, splitting my time between Charlotte, NC and Rock Hill, SC. I hardly had time to breathe, let alone think about “meeting anyone.”

Nevertheless, two and a half years ago, I somehow managed time to squeeze in weekly Trivia every Thursday evening at a local bar in town, Big Daddy’s, with my new group of Charlotte friends.

tp://i2.cdn.turner.com/money/galleries/2009/smallbusiness/0910/gallery.best_places_cursed_locations.smb/images/big_daddys_charlotte.jpg

Trivia Madness

Two and a half years ago today, I got a text from one my buddies telling me to drop by his apartment for a barbecue before trivia.

Two and a half years ago today, I attended that little barbecue shin-dig.

https://i1.wp.com/blog.dhgate.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/08/backyard-bbq.jpg

Our barbecue was not as sophisticated as this rando picture-off-the-internet-fake-Barbeque-party, but it was still tons-o-funnnnn!

Two and a half years ago today, I walked onto the doorstep and into my friend’s apartment…an apartment that turned out to be the place where Ryan lived.

https://happytalesblog.files.wordpress.com/2011/04/door2bof2bopportunity.jpg?w=300

Oh, hello, symbolic door of opportunity…how nice of you to present yourself!

Two and a half years ago today, I met this guy…

DSCF5263

NYE, ringing in 2009!

…and he turned out to be the love of my life.

So needless to say, two and a half years ago today… my life changed for the better.

Let’s look at some highlights, shall we?

DSCF4640

Sunrise on Sanibel Island, December 21st, 2008 – moments after “becoming official”

DSCF4663

Sunrise, December 21st, 2008 con’t

DSCF4694

Happiness! (Sunrise, December 21st, 2008)

DSCF4966

Sanibel Island (Christmas 2008)

DSCF5616

Valentine’s Day (2009)

DSCF5749

Elton John/Billy Joel Concert (Charlotte, March 2009)

DSCF5918

Easter (Cincinnati, 2009)

DSCF6266

Enjoying the waterfalls @ Petit Jean State Park near Ryan’s hometown of Russellville, Arkansas (May 2009)

DSCF7324

Ryan’s Brother’s wedding (Minnesota, September 2009)

DSCF8347

Relaxing at my momma’s house in Florida (Christmas 2009)

DSCF8727

Watching the sunrise on Sanibel Island (December 21st, 2009)

DSCF8432

Wanna-be-artsy photo-op before biking around Sanibel Island (Christmas, 2009)

DSCF9122

Valentine’s Day (2010)

DSCF9231

Golf outing in Charlotte (April 2010)

DSCF0450

Helllloooo new puppy!! Officially a HappyTales famjam (October 2010)

DSCF1327

Daddy’s little helper (December 2010)

DSCF1263

Sanibel Island (Christmas, 2010)

DSCF1551

Our first *real* Christmas together! (Christmas 2010, @ my momma’s house in Florida)

It’s so crazy to think that I’ve known Ryan for two and a half years. I feel so blessed, and I can’t ever imagine a day without him.

How did you meet your significant other? Anyone else meet ‘em completely out of the blue at a time when it was hard to carve out time to simply sleep?

And a random question: do any of you have a “good-side” when it comes to taking pictures? If it hasn’t become obvious from this post… the majority of our “monkey-arm” pictures are taken with me on the left and Ryan on the right. Is it a coincidence? Or is it due to the fact that the camera  button is on the left hand side, and because I am the “Master Picture-Taker,” I must therefore end up on the left… Hmmmm. It’s a mystery the world may never know.Smile with tongue out

PS. I cannot thank you guys enough for all of the support and well-wishes you all left me in the comments section of my last post. It is amazing to see how many of you could relate, and it’s great to know I am not alone in this journey! Makes me love this little blogging community even more Smile

19 Comments

Filed under Christmas, Cincinnati, family, Happy, love, my story, out and about, recap, roadtrip, Ryan, Sanibel Island, the boy, Travel

19 responses to “Two And A Half Years

  1. awwww sha! Ya’ll are cute 🙂

  2. Great post thanks for sharing. Family and friends are what truly makes life worth living. Even as we get older we find out how much we truly need one another.

    For more information check out these Family Activities

  3. Aww you two are so GORGEOUS!! And I LOVE the dress you’re wearing in the wedding photo- you look so beautiful in it!! 🙂

  4. omg LOVE this girl 🙂 i met my guy at school 4 years ago while were in college- we both were taking education courses and i always thought he was cute but we were both dating other people- we ended breaking it off in the summer (both of us) and started to talk more in the fall..then in sept we became official.. 3 1/2 years later here we are! ha! xo

  5. You are seriously GLOWING in all of these pics! Congrats on 2.5 years with the love of your lifeeee

  6. What a beautiful photoblog of love! 🙂

    My husband and I met because I moved to Chicago and my roommates were in his PhD department 🙂

    I think all my sides are fine – I just don’t worry too much about it bec I realize I’m not posing in real life! 😛

  7. Awww, you guys are so cute together!

  8. AWWWW super adorable! And many more years to come! 🙂

    P.S- I definitely lived in Rock Hill, SC for a year when I attended Winthrop my freshman year of college! Beautiful place!

  9. I’m on the verge of tears. This is the cutest thing I’ve ever seen. 🙂 Congratulations ❤ you two are ADORABLE.

  10. You two are a gorgeous couple!

  11. You are so pretty! this is gorgeous! happy two and a half years!! 🙂

  12. Pingback: Celebrate Good Times | Happy Tales

  13. Awww!! You two are so precious! What a beautiful couple. 🙂

  14. Pingback: Kennedy’s | Happy Tales

  15. Pingback: Shades of Gray | Happy Tales

  16. Pingback: The Proposal | Happy Tales

  17. Pingback: Love. | Happy Tales

Leave a Reply

