Oh, Happy Day!

Here in the Happy Tales Household, we do things on our own timeline. This includes recapping Holidays (see: Christmas 2010, New Years, my birthday [[yes, I am that self-absorbed and consider my birthday a holiday, thankyouverymuch. Only kidding. Sort of…]]). So without further ado, I present to you: Easter, 2011.

We had a very leisurely morning (read: we had good intentions of making it to church, but I had taken Nyquil for the first time ever the night before and the stuff practically knocked me out cold. I woke up feeling legitimately drugged. Even my potty breaks to the bathroom (because yes, I pee at least 2x a night thanks to my insanely small bladder, TMI?) were a haze to me come morning. Let’s just say, I had a Nyquil hangover.  It was bad, and dragging myself out of bed Easter morning was rough. Maybe we’ll have better luck next year…

Anywho, my head finally made its way out of the fog, and Ryan and I got our creative juices flowin’ for a fun little Easter Egg(less) Hunt for Happy. (Edited to clarify: Ryan came up with this idea. I only helped execute… and continually repeated over and over what a creative genius I thought he was).

Ryan and I spent some time hiding carrots around the house as if they were Easter Eggs. (Background: Happy loves carrots more than Bugs Bunny).

clip_image007

It's true.

We let Happy wander out onto the back porch, and then we sneakily closed the door on her so she couldn’t come inside. It was acually kind of funny to watch her confusion. (I swear I’m not a mean person. We just had to do some Easter-Carrot hiding…).

IMG_0161

Um, guys?!

In total, we hid six carrots….

IMG_0153

Carrot numero uno

IMG_0162

WHAAAT are you guys doing in there?!?!!

IMG_0154

…Numero dos

IMG_0157

Carrot numba three

IMG_0163

I command you, LET ME IN!!!!

IMG_0158

Tricky Tricky!

IMG_0159

Number four…

IMG_0160

Number five

IMG_0164

aaaaand Carrot number six.

You’d think she’d find Carrot #6 easy-peasy, right? (Heck, you can see in the above pictures that she was watching us through the door as we placed carrot #6 in it’s spot…)

Ha, well, don’t get your hopes up

Here’s a rundown of what happened when we let our little Pupsqueak embark on her Easter-Carrot Hunt…

**Must attack mommy with lots of LOVE and tell her how much I missed her while waiting patiently outsideeeeeeeee**

IMG_0166

Shmeeeee!

IMG_0167

Bahhhh the room is spinning and everything is blurry because I just CAN’T control myself…

IMG_0168

Must.Keep.SPINNING!

IMG_0169

Wahhhh what is going on!?! Why are you still taking pictures of me?!?!

IMG_0170

Carrot? WHAT?! Shut the front door… Whereeeeee?

Oh… THERE!!

IMG_0171

*ohmygoodness* IS.THIS.REAL.LIFE?!

IMG_0173

nomnomnom

And you said …there’s more?

“Yes Happy… there are more carrots…”

*Let the real hunt BEGIN!*

IMG_0175

Searchin’ high… searchin’ low…

IMG_0179

Don’t be silly, there’s nothing behind me…

I’ll even show you…

IMG_0180

See? Nothing there!

BAH!

IMG_0187

Carrot for the win!

IMG_0182

Gotta give this towel a quick little tug’n’shake… you know, just in case…

IMG_0186

Alright y’all… give me more hints

IMG_0188

WHERE ARE DE CARROTS?!

“Why don’t you check under your Bacon Bone, Happs…”

IMG_0196

Really? *under* the bone??! Huh…

“C’mon Happs, would I really lead you astray?”

IMG_0193

So… just look…down? And I’ll find it?

“Maaaaybe…”

IMG_0199

wahhhh!!!!! Another carrot!!!

IMG_0203

And another!

IMG_0204

This is seriously the best game everrrr

IMG_0207

Sooo…tireddd…!

“But Happy… you still have more carrots to find!”

IMG_0209

Get out of town. There’s…. MORE??????

IMG_0212

GOTCHA!

IMG_0210

Can it be Easter every day?

IMG_0219

There’s *got* to be more in here…

“Sorry, nope…keep on wishin’ Happs”

IMG_0221

My sniffer tells me there’s somethin’ over here…

IMG_0222

Ohhhh I FOUND IT!

IMG_0225

aaaaand last one!

So, there you have it, the first ever Easter Carrot Hunt was quite the success!

It was the cutest thing to watch (like, ever…) and I can’t wait until Happy’s 1st birthday comes aroud! We’re we’re gonna throw her a fun birthday party with all of the neighbor pups, so y’all Charlotte folk, mark you calendars: June 21st…it’s comin’ up!

To continue with our relaxing day, we took a family Easter walk to Freedom Park…

IMG_0235

Leisurely stroll in the neighborhood

IMG_0236

IMG_0237

Now THOSE are some Easter Eggs!

IMG_0238

Look alive, Happs

IMG_0247

So pretty….and so lucky to live close to this place!

IMG_0251

IMG_0267

IMG_0253

IMG_0255

Reason #88598549 why I love Charlotte...

IMG_0272

a little Easter Entertainment, of course

IMG_0274

Soooomebody got a little tired and begged to be carried home...

IMG_0282

Now is that a good doggie-daddy or what?

Not too bad for our first Easter as a HappyTales famjam, huh?

Did you enjoy Easter Egg hunts as a wee-one? Do you still enjoy them (C’mon, tell the truth, I promise I won’t judge…)? Can you tolerate Nyquil? Or does it knock-you-out cold-turkey?

15 Comments

Filed under a good laugh, family, Happy, Oh, Happy Day!, out and about

15 responses to “Oh, Happy Day!

  1. It looks like you had a really great Easter and enjoyed some good time together:) Happy is so cute looking for all the carrots!

  2. Aunt Carrie

    Loved it! What creativity on both of your parts! Do some more!

  3. So fun! I still love Easter Egg hunts–my grandma wanted me to help hide eggs this year, and I had to break the news that I was still participating 🙂

  4. Aw this is too freaking adorable! What a cute idea and Happy looks so… well happy! 😀

  5. Happy is super duper uper cute!

  6. Cute game for Happy!

    I can’t take NyQuil at ALL. It makes me feel like I am having a heart attack!! Palpatations, sweats – the worst! No thanks! Ugh.

    ~

  7. Happy is seriously the cutesssst dog! My grandma’s dog also loves baby carrots and goes nuts whenever they offer her a treat of a “cookie” (baby carrot). Maybe the same trick I’ll use on my children one day 🙂

  8. Aww so cute!! Love this! Happy looks like she had a great time hunting for carrots! 🙂

  9. vanessa

    Oh my gosh I took Nyquil once and my First graders were asking me what’s wrong. I felt drunk(never drank in my life). I couldn’t think straight or talk right. It was awful!

  10. Haha aw that looks like so much fun! I have tons of fun memories from easter egg hunts past 🙂

  11. hahahaha.. oh, Allison. I loved this.

  12. I LOVED this post! I was literally laughing out loud at her standing in her bed on top of the carrot! hahaha. This is reason #381983 my husband and I need to get a dog, like now.

  13. Oh. my. God. This made my morning! Your dog is SO FREAKIN CUTE! Unbelievable! And I thought mine was the only one who was a total carrot head. (And broccoli. I mean really? Come on Scout.)

    And I can’t take Nyquil either. It never gets better. I always wake up with no memories of the night before and feeling like I didn’t even sleep. I don’t know why people like it so much…what kills me is the people who use it, like, nightly as a sleep aid! Wtf?

  14. Pingback: Sayonara, Spring…it’s Summer Time! | Happy Tales

Leave a Reply

