Oh, Happy Day!

Yesterday, Happy turned 11 months old. But by the rate this little pupsqueak has grayed during the time we’ve had her…you’d think she turned 11 years old.

Not.Even.Kidding.

DSCF1025

So I’m graying, what’s it to you?!

Back when we got Little Miss Happy Tails, she was mostly black (okay, a really, really dark brown that just looked black) with a few white patches on her forehead, tail, and paws.

DSCF0451

Bringing Happy home from the shelter! (Oct. 2010)

In fact, The markings on her body were what really caught my eye when we first saw her at the shelter (who am I kidding… the ears drew me in, too—they kill me EVERY time!). Basically, this pup exudes cuteness, and now that she’s started to gray, she’s gotten even cuter!

DSCF0475

ohmigah… those EARS!

I don’t think her graying comes from age, though. I think it’s just how her breed (or whatever mix she is…basinji/bordercollie/terrior mix?) transitions from puppy-hood to adult-hood. Okay, so the previous sentience signifies that maybe it does have something to do with age (cut me some slack, I’m taking a break from using my brain this weekend…). What I’m *trying* to say is… I don’t think Happy’s graying follows the typical graying pattern of a normal dog… like a blacklab.

Let’s take a further look… starting with some puppy pictures depicting the “star” on her forehead.

DSCF0494

See that?

Yep, that’s a black and white face with a prominent white “star” on her forehead…

DSCF0624

Let go of me, mommy! I'm a *star!*

DSCF0693

Too bad our little star doesn’t know how to relax…

DSCF0856

What’s that your snuggling there with, Happs? Shoes?

Yes, shoes. because that’s totally normal (uh, not…).

In addition to the big star on her forehead, you can also see that she had zero gray hairs behind her ears…

DSCF0485

Grays? Yack!

DSCF0582

DSCF0581

Her dog-tag reads “Happy G’Lucky”

DSCF0607

What a tiny little Happs

Likewise, there were no gray on her shoulders blades, either…

DSCF1197

Zip.

DSCF0588

Zero.

DSCF1424

Zilch.

And no gray on her “flapps” (aka… her butt), either.

DSCF1201

Nope, no grays here!

DSCF1421

What a lady…

Happy looked pretty much the same for 3 or so months after we got her. Then, December hit, and I noticed  the “star” on her forehead began to shrink.

IMG_0964

Yep, that star has definitely gotten smaller!

DSCF1785

Where’d it go?

IMG_0976

*Shrugs*

The markings on the sides of her body have had some changes as well. She’s grayed behind her ears, on her “shoulder-blades” and on her hind-leg “flaps”.

Take a look at the graying behind her ears…

DSCF1735

Man, Happs, you must be under a lot of stress with all that graying…

IMG_0943

Yep. There’s no hiding it.

…aaaaand check out the grays around the shoulder-blades!

IMG_0961

Gray armpit hair—so hott right now

And grays on the Flapps!

(Sidenote: we actually have nicknamed her “Flappy” because of the grays she’s developed on her butt-flapps. I probably call her this nickname half the time I talk about her. It’s said with love. I promise.)

IMG_0931

Now that’s a lot of gray on those flapps!

IMG_0977

Even her tail has gotten more gray! And it’s “filled out” more, too Smile

IMG_0978

Love that white little tip 🙂

Of course, we’ll love Happy no matter how much she gray’s. She’ll always be adorable in our eyes. I mean really, just look at that face…

IMG_0970

I’m the best!

Have you ever noticed a change in your pet’s coat? Do/did your animals gray with age? Or did they gray “prematurely” due to the type of breed?

11 Comments

Filed under Happy, Oh, Happy Day!

11 responses to “Oh, Happy Day!

  1. Olive started to get grey really early too! I’d say she started to get grey at about a year old. I’m not sure if it is because she is a black pug or what, but she is about 3 1/2 now and her chin is practically white and her muzzle and tummy are getting pretty grey now too!

  2. What a precious post! I love all the pictures:)

  3. I basically was going “Awwww” the whole time I read this! Cute puppy pictures are perfect for a Sunday morning. 🙂 What an awesome dog-tag!

  4. Awwwwww what a cute pup 🙂

    My puppy (the only one I’ve ever had!!) was a beagle/yellow lab mix (I know) so he didn’t have much black, and didn’t gray. He did, however, wind up getting cherry-eye, which is a common affliction of beagles — harmless but still had to have surgery to get ’em out!

  5. I just died of cuteness. Oh my gosh.

    My little poodle started out a deep red and ended up more cream/apricot/etc, and my cavalier is graying a bit around his nose but he’s 8 years old so it’s understandable 😉

    happy eleven months, Happy! 🙂

  6. Awwww baby Happy pics!! She is SUCH a cutie!

    Oreo was 2 when we adopted him so he hasn’t changed much, other than filling out (he was way skinny) and his coat is much shinier and healthier now. 🙂

  7. maaawwwww, happy and chloe need a playdate asap. she is SO cute!

    I don’t think labs really gray anywhere but their snout/neck (for the most part), but that doesn’t generally start for a loooong time.

  8. Awww love this post! Adorable!!!

    I’ve noticed that Maci (my cat) has a little grey hair…. only a little though! 😉

  9. Pingback: Shades of Gray | Happy Tales

  10. Pingback: Oh, Happy Day! | Happy Tales

Leave a Reply

