TGIF

Oh my heavens. The phrase TGIF has never rung so true.

This week has been cah-raaazy busy. In fact, time has flown since we’ve gotten back from Wilmington. I’m pretty sure the last time I was cognizant of the date was July 4th…

…and now it’s July 22nd.

What the WHAT?!

http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSvyLHSbhD5kYFUt8CeBQCXaqtg4lkeCm02ZvvPDIp7VgLqmJQY2A

Oh well, thank god it’s almost AUGUST because that means Epidemiology will be over!

Sadly, this class has taken over my brain. Well, kind of.

You see, even though I have been taking this class for 2+ months, have done well on assignments and even achieved 86% on the first exam… I still don’t truly feel like I understand the material. I guess I feel like my hard efforts have kind of make me a “fraud,” in way. Sure, I’m doing “okay” in the class grade-wise, but that doesn’t mean I’ll be suited to apply this stuff in my every day life. It’s mostly the different types of rates that confuse the heck out of me, and which ones to use…and when to use ‘em.

https://i1.wp.com/www.austinpost.org/files/articles/5431045_2.jpg

Oh dear.

Thankfully, my now-job does not involve this type of analysis, and because I’m never going to be an epidemiologist, I don’t think I’ll need to use it later down the road in my career. Nevertheless, it’s still good to have an understanding. And I guess that I do have a general, overall picture of epidemiology (different forms of bias, confounding factors and study designs…easypeasy! )… it’s just the math and statistical analysis that is a bit too much.

DSCF2024

Yikes.

It’s a good thing that epidemiologists collaborate and work in teams in the “real-world.” I’ve noticed that in my own group for class, my strong point is someone else’s weak point; and we have a math GENIUS (he’s getting’ his PhD in biostatistics!) who can whip out calculations left and right. The group work is awesome and so much fun and I highly enjoy working as a team every Monday and Tuesday night. It’s the exams I don’t enjoy as much, and that’s because there’s zero collaboration on the exams (duh).

Needless to say, last night I finished up exam #2 and am so happy to have it turned in! Y’all grad-school people can understand, I’m sure…especially those of you who work at the same time. Sleep becomes optional (or at odd hours of the day) social life becomes zero and sometimes all you want to do is read (non-school related) book.  Couple all of that with work, and I was one bussssy bee this past week. At least it kept my mind off of the biopsies I had taken last week… (BTW, I call in a few hours to find out my results).

I finally am seeing a light at the end of this tunnel, and it’s getting brighter every day. I can’t express in words how excited I am to finally enjoy my summer nights and not hit the books.

Sure, my class ends Aug 12th and my next two classes start August 15th (did I mention I’ll be in Chapel Hill from August 12th-14th for orientation? Um. SO EXCITED!). but I think I’ll still be able to have a nice mental break between my classes. The stuff in the beginning of class is always so gradual and “let’s get to know each other!” that I feel  things will be pretty lax until late-August, at least. Here’s hoping!

I do miss the good-ole days of summer, though. The post-undergraduate days when life was just slower. The days were all I had to do was wake up, go to work, work, come home… and (are you sitting down?) —do anything I wanted. I know, it’s crazy talk!

But really, for those of you who are working your way through grad-school, I feel you. It is hard. When you are awake, your brain is always “on” because you are either a.) working b.) studying or c.) thinking about your crazy to-do list [Hopefully you get to escape d.) freaking out]. So yes, I know. Sometimes, the last thing you want to do after a long day at work is come home and crack open the books and crunch numbers into the wee hours of the morning. That was me this past week.

It’s weekends like this one that I absolutely, one-hundred-percent cherish because of the “lull” in school work. I actually turned in exam #2 early (it’s actually not due until tomorrow – Saturday, but I wanted it DONE), and my next assignment isn’t due until Wednesday. So I am going to take this weekend and do anything and everything I want.

Things on my list so far?

-A fancypants dinner out on the town w/ Ry (so excited about this!)

-Hiking in the mountains w/ Happy

-Trips for FroYo (duh)

-Watching the Bachlorette (I am so behind)

-Reading more in Water for Elephants

-Catching up on DVR (ahem, Modern Family and Bravo TV shows I am looking at you.)

https://i0.wp.com/flowtv.org/wp-content/uploads/2010/07/picture-41.png

LOVE this show. So much.

https://i2.wp.com/giredo.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/12/real-housewives-2.jpg

don't.judge.me

-Catch up on SLEEP!

-Play with friends

-And last but not least: my first long-run for marathon number two!

So yes, thank goodness it’s Friday… but thank the LORD it’s almost August! August = trip to Charleston (for Ryan’s 25th bday!), orientation in Chapel Hill, and HLS in Philadelphia (yesssssss!). Oh, and of course the end of epidemiology.

Tell me, did you ever work your way through school? Do you ever come home from work tired and not wanting to do anything? Do you like to take weekends to “recharge”? Am I human for feeling this way?

PS. Just in case you’re worried about my happiness/business levels… I gotta say that I love where I am in life. Sure, it’s crazy-busy, but I am choosing to take part in all of this. I don’t have to get my masters, but I want to. I love learning about this stuff. And in my field, there’s a huge pay-off in having your masters. So this is just another step in getting me where I want to be.

10 Comments

Filed under goals, graduate school, Healthy Living Summit, HLS, job, marathon, melanoma, my story, public health, recap, running, Savannah RockNRoll Marathon, Skin cancer, training

10 responses to “TGIF

  1. Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

    I’m so glad you finished up your exam! I hope you have a great weekend 🙂

  2. This makes me so sure that I will never want to get anything beyond my bachelor’s. hahaha. Oh MAN.

    This sounds like a WELL DESERVED Friday for you though 😉 Have a great weekend!!!

  3. It’s nice you finished your exam before the weekend so that you can enjoy it! Take care of yourself and have fun!!! I JUST caught up on the bachelorette last night…I hope you enjoy it:)

  4. You are seriously impressive, girl!! I admire how much you’re able to accomplish and still have a positive attitude. 🙂

    I can’t believe HLS is less than a month away… woooo!!! 🙂 🙂

  5. You are completely human girl! You deserve a break and I’m glad you see the light…you’re almost there!

  6. Pingback: Bubbling Over | Happy Tales

  7. Pingback: Empowered | Happy Tales

  8. Pingback: What I’m Falling For | Happy Tales

Leave a Reply

