The Verdict Is In!

Remember how I’ve been playing the waiting game ever since those two biopsies were taken off my leg and back?

Well, I finally got my results…

IMG_2502

…and let off a huge sigh of relief!

Thankfully, no malignancies were found. They did note, however, that the biopsies indicated evidence of dysplasia in both biopsy sites. Because of this they recommend I get my skin checked every six months. Note taken. See ya in the New Year, Doc.

They also informed me about this new type of technology called MoleSafe. They said I’d make a good candidate because I’m… well, mole-y. How scientific of them. Glad to know I’m not the only Captain Obvious here in Charlotte.

IMG_2503

So, what is MoleSafe, exactly?

Well, according to their brochure, “Molesafe is a worldwide service that utilizes a new technology to perform a comprehensive full-body check-up to assess your skin, using digital imaging and dermoscopy scans to produce a digital melanogram. This melanogram is then examined and diagnosed by a MoleSafe dermatologist. Regular follow-up examinations refer to your stored melanogram and allow comparisons of the scans over time, detecting any problems at an early stage. In fact, MoleSafe’s diagnosis can be more accurate than a regular clinical inspection.”

Pretty neat, huh? Unfortunately, I am not financially able to start the Molesafe process (it costs hundreds of dollars for the initial high-resolution digital imaging, dermoscopy scans and body-mapping), so I have plenty of time to research this new-to-me process. But it’s definitely something I will keep in mind.

Anywho, I’m so relieved to have good news. The waiting period flew by thanks to my busy schedule. I’m also healing quite well.

Wanna see?

IMG_2390

Not too shabby.

But I still think it’s going to leave a scar. Oh well. Scars are for the living. They tell stories. I’m sure I’ll have more to come in my future. And I’ll be proud of each and every one of them. I’ll gladly be a walking symbol for skin-cancer awareness. Just like my momma and her “pepperoni.”

Have you ever heard of MoleSafe? Do you know anyone who has had experience with it? Do you have any scars you are proud of, or any you are scared to show people?

17 Comments

Filed under cancer, melanoma, my story, public health, recap, safety, Skin cancer, sunscreen

17 responses to “The Verdict Is In!

  1. Rhonda

    Great news, Allison! 🙂

  2. Meg

    SOOO happy for you! But I know (and YOU know) that cancer awareness still needs to be TOP on the list 🙂

    I’ve been praying for you, lady. You’re a rockstar/

  3. Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

    That’s a huge relief!!! Your posts on this have definitely given me the guts to go get a few moles checked. Not that the doctor can see me any time soon but at least I made an appointment! 🙂

  4. “Scars are souvenirs you never lose. The past is never far.”-goo goo dolls

    Wear that scar proudly, girl, and breathe easy now! So happy to hear positive results!

  5. YAY, this is such great news, Allison!!!! I’ve been waiting to hear, and I’m so glad it’s good news!! 🙂

  6. What an immense amount of relief you must feel right now! I’m so happy it came back fine. I’ve never heard of Molesafe before, but it sounds pretty interesting…

  7. That’s awesome news! 🙂 I bet you’re soooo relieved. Definitely worth celebrating. So glad you’re healthy!

  8. So glad for you, girl!!

    And I haven’t heard of MoleSafe before, but it sounds intriguing. I can see how it would be appealing if you have lots of moles for sure!

  9. any scar that doesnt have a good story… is just waiting to have a baller one made up for it =) hehe! glad you’re ok! biopsies always leave me on edge! eep!

  10. Fantastic news! What a sigh of relief!!! 🙂

  11. yay! glad to hear all is well. Molesafe sounds totally cool. is any of it covered by insurance?

  12. What a relief, it must be nice to hear. I love the idea of MoleSafe – what neat technology!

  13. Yay for being healthy! I haven’t heard of MoleSafe but I am also pretty mole-y…might be worth looking in to, thanks for sharing:)

  14. Pingback: Sweat It Out | Happy Tales

  15. Laura Warren

    I know this post is almost 2 years old, but I noticed that your dermatologist is in Charlotte (I live about 30 mins west of Charlotte). I’ve recently had a mole biopsy, and I’m awaiting results. However, I’m looking for a new dermatologist. Is your dermatologist extremely difficult to get an appointment with?

    • Hi Lauren!! The dermatologist I saw for that particular appt (2 years ago) wasn’t horribly difficult to get an appointment with… they are a practice right off of Randolph Rd here in CLT. I actually switched dermatologists about a year and a half ago, though, and LOVE the one I go to now. (I didn’t like the bedside manner of that practice this post is about, they didn’t do anything wrong, per se, but they weren’t too warm overall). I go to Charlotte Dermatology now and very much like all the doctors I’ve seen there. I actually have an appt every 6 months due to my history and my family’s history. I never blogged about it, but I actually had a biopsy come back last May that was a pre-cancerous melanoma (on my leg) and they had to go in and surgically remove the area (to make sure the margins were clear, etc) and now I have a pretty nifty scar on the inside of my calf muscle because of it (now that i think about it, this would make a great blog post!. I think I had something like 15 stitches in my leg for about a month. Charlotte Dermatology is WONDERFUL and I highly recommend them. I’ve seen them 4+ times now in the year and a half since I’ve switched over, and each doctor I sit with has been very attentive and amazing. They are located off of 7th street here in Charlotte… let me know if you have any questions!! Good luck with the waiting process… it is rough but just keep yourself busy and the time will fly by!

Leave a Reply

