It’s Time for a CELEBRATION!

And celebrate we will!

Not only am I *officially* on summer break, but it’s also Ryan’s birthday!  (Oh, and I busted out my 12mile- longrun for the weekend early this morning, so I officially have ZERO things on my to-do list for the next few days! Definitely celebration worthy, in my book).

So yes.

Today, the mister turns the big 2-5 Smile

Movin’ on up!

We figured there’d be no better way to celebrate these events than with a vacation, sooooo… that’s what we’re doing!

https://i2.wp.com/farm3.static.flickr.com/2449/3833983038_71965f9556.jpg

Roadtrip to the *other* Cackalacky

For the next 5 days, we’ll be relaxing our faces off in good ‘ole Charleston, South Carolina. Good culture, good eats, good company. Sounds right up my alley.

https://i1.wp.com/www.vetfriends.com/military_reunions/images/CHS%20Battery.jpg

❤ the Architecture

https://i1.wp.com/thedevinehome.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/rainbow-row-charleston-sc-jeff-pittman.jpg

First from left = Ryan's birthday present (Shhh, don't tell).

Charleston, SC  https://i1.wp.com/searchwarp.com/UserImages/250301/10_Most_Romantic_Cities_Charleston,SC.jpg

Pretty gardens

 https://i2.wp.com/www.resortquest.com/images/charleston-battery.jpg

And of course, The Battery

The only not-good (un-good? Who the hell knows, my academic-brain has been turned off since finishing up epidemiology the other day… just be thankful I’m not trying to communicate this blog-Post via smoke-signals) thing about this trip?

The fact that I have to spend my nights away from this face…

IMG_2603

Don’t leave me!

For the first time.

IMG_2628

Pah-leeeease!

Ever.

IMG_0976

Ohhhh Happs, your ears kill me *every* time.

I know I know. I’ve already talked about this before.

But…I am ridiculous. Straight up ridiculous. (Shocking, right?).

So ridiculous, in fact, that I’ve been tearing up the past few days at work just thinking about leaving my little pupsqueak behind.

IMG_2635

I’ll never let go, Happs

Remember when I initially brought up this little dilemma? Well, at least for this trip, we have an answer. The Happ’s is staying with my bud, Bobby and his boxer, Dakota. (In fact, Bobby is one of my fellow Chapel Hill classmates!).

I know Happy will have a rockin’ time prancing and running circles around Dakota, and she’ll probably even learn a few tricks (or 5) from being around her. Word Bark on the street is that Dakota is quite the smarty-pants.

Better yet, I bet Happy won’t even realize Ryan and I disappeared for the weekend. At least, I hope that’s the case. All I know is, Happy is in good hands. (And she’ll be one well-hydrated pup while we’re gone, thanks to Bobby’s non-profit/passion, NoFizzUSA.)

So tell me, have you ever been to Charleston, SC? Know of any “must-sees,” “must-do’s,” or more importantly… “must-eats”? Kaminsky’s is already on the list. We discovered the beauty of that dessert-bar the last time we were in Charleston… and Ryan has already declared that we’ll be frequenting it multiple times on this trip. Can’t argue with the birthday boy! T-minus 9 hours ‘til that tollhouse-chocolatechip-cookie–pie is mine.  Bring on the sugar-rush Smile with tongue out

10 Comments

Filed under birthdays, Charleston, Happy, out and about, roadtrip, running, Ryan, school, the boy, vacation

10 responses to “It’s Time for a CELEBRATION!

  1. Rhonda

    What a wonderful way to celebrate Ryan’s milestone birthday! Have fun!

  2. Bring that Haps over here! Dakota is ready to play!

  3. Ahhhh today is MY Ryan’s birthday!! Small world, all the Ryan’s born at once.

    Have a great trip! Never been to Charleston, but heard only the best, especially about the shopping! Soak up every second.

  4. Happy birthday to your Ryan 🙂 Have fun!!

    I’ll be taking notes of your Charleston trip. I’ve never been, but my soon-to-be sister-in-law is having her Bachelorette party there next April!

  5. Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

    Happy birthday to Ryan!!
    I hope you guys have a really fun trip!

  6. Happy Birthday, Ryan. Enjoy Charleston. I love it there for all the reasons you mention. I am a beach girl but when it comes to Charleston, I don’t even think about the beaches. Happy will be fine. We went on vacation a couple of weeks ago. I had two friends stay with our three Babies here at the house. They really didn’t realize when we came home. That made me happy because I knew they had been well loved and content.

  7. Have fun girl, you’ve earned it!

  8. Happy Birthday to Ryan! Hope you two have a wonderful time!

    Happy is getting so big I barely recognize the formerly little one! 😛

  9. Hope you guys had a great trip and Happy is just too adorable!

  10. Pingback: Empowered | Happy Tales

Leave a Reply

