Bubbling Over

The title of this post pretty much sums up how I’m feeling… on so many levels.

I have pretty much been a wiggling ball of excitement this whole entire month. Our trip to Charleston for Ryan’s birthday was relaxing, enchanting and oh-so-needed  (especially after an intense summer-semester spent with my head buried in Epidemiology books – which, by the way, I ended up getting a High Pass – the highest grade possible for the class. My jaw is still on the floor from the initial shock. Don’t worry, I’ve wiped up the resulting pool of drool. Multiple times.).

IMG_2886

Charleston with the Birthday Boy!

And the few days I spent in Chapel Hill over this past weekend for my MPH orientation? Well, let’s just sum it up and say they were hands down INCREDIBLE! I feel so blessed… and so honored to be a part of such a talented and dedicated group of people.

IMG_3538

Seriously, people.

The Public Health field is about to move mountains. I cannot even begin to imagine all of the greatness that is going to be a result of this MPH program.

It may have taken a few twists and turnsfor me to get into this program, but the journey was well worth it. And I know it’s only the beginning.  (More on this in a future post!).

And you know what’s even more exciting? The fact that my advisor is totally, completely, 100% on my level.

Mean to be.

I get her. She gets me. Heck, we were even finishing each other’s sentences! We chatted for over an hour, and it was one of the most incredible hours I’ve ever spent. By the end of our time together, we mapped out an academic plan that allows me to graduate…(are you sitting down?) IN A YEAR! So next December, I’ll have my MPH. Hot damn, talk about exciting news.

I have so much more to say, but I’m trying to keep this post short (HA!). I promise I’ll recap my orientation experience and our trip to Charleston next week, as both deserve a lot of attention.

But today? Ah yes, today… I must get my things in order for yet another trip! (I know I know, I’ve been a traveling machine, as of late. The Happs is not pleased. Not one little bit).

You see, I am jetting off to Philadelphia tomorrow to attend the oh-so-anticipated Healthy Living Summit(HLS, for those of you who are down the with bloggyland lingo).

https://i1.wp.com/pics4.city-data.com/cpicc/cfiles17506.jpg

The City of Bloggerly Love… (just roll with me, here).

And I am *BEYOND* excited. Exclamation Point. (!!!!!!!!)

Ya feel me?

Alright. Good.

Glad I got that out of my system. That little outburst should tide me over for ohhhh… you know, the next 5 minutes.

Good thing I have a 14mile long-run planned for today. Should help keep me occupied. Psh, I might as well use my time running to brainstorm my packing list. And yes, I say “brainstorm” here because, well, I am a horrible packer. And with all the crazy plane fees goin’ on these days, I’m not about to check a bag. (What am I – made of money??! Riiiight). So, homegirl has to get a little creative and figure out what to pack in a light-as-a-feather fashion. (I can see my dear boyfriend rolling his eyes right now as he reads this at work…). I promise, I am gonna make this happen!

Gulp.

Anywho, there’s another reason why I’m super pumped for Philly. I just found out last night that my long-lost BFF (I’m looking at YOU, Ryan Murray!) from Australia is attending Law-School… in Philly! And his new apartment is less than a mile from my hotel! Ohmylanta, chaos is about to ensue. I should probably do a recap post of my year abroad in Australia, and then y’all would understand. We were a serious force to be reckoned with.

P1011825

Sailing in the Whitsundays (Australia, Spring 2007)

100_1395

Byron Bay Mansion (Australia, Spring 2007)

101_0058

Self Explanatory

HPIM1612

Team Awesome

IMG_1430

Sheningans on the Boardwalk at Bond Uni (Australia, Spring 2007)

IMG_1429

Oh Dear.

Hands down one of the best years in my entire life. Seriously brings tears to my eyes just thinking about all the good times that year brought. A few of my other friends from Australia are currently living in Philly, too, so hopefully I can meet up with them (Hi Emily!).

BONDIE 034

BROADBEACH 012

Ohhh you know… Me, Emily and her twin sister, Kate... hanging out with Kelly Slater

Oh right. I guess I should explain. You’re probably wondering who this Kelly Slater character is…

No biggie, really. He’s only the one of the world’s best surfers…

Anyway, after chattin’ it up with Kelly (and discussing our mutual love for G-Love and Special Sauce, random I know… but that’s what you get with me. I know no stranger.) we walked into the QuickSilver store right across the street… and found this:

BROADBEACH 014

You know, ain't no thang

Oh yes, that would be good ‘ole KellBell’s face pinned up… on a billboard. I definitely did a double take. And then promptly got my picture taken with the billboard (I must’ve known blogging was in my future…).

Whew, enough with memory lane. Now that I’ve obviously wandered to the Land Down Under (has it really been 5 years already?!), I’m off to hit the pavement. And dream-up my packing list.

Fourteen Miles? You are miiiiine!

Are you an over-packer? Did you ever study abroad? Are you attending HLS? (If you are, make sure to find me and say hi!!!!!!!) Are you training for a fall race? If so, which one? Would you be interested in hearing more about my Australian Adventures?

22 Comments

Filed under Abroad, Australia, Charleston, graduate school, Happiness, Healthy Living Summit, HLS, marathon, my story, out and about, public health, recap, roadtrip, running, Savannah RockNRoll Marathon, school, training, vacation

22 responses to “Bubbling Over

  1. Ooh the LOVE sculpture! I totally want to go take pics in front of it! I can’t wait for this weekend either, I am packing super light because looks like we will get a ton of swag at this conference!!!

  2. WOO it’s SO SOON!!! I can’t believe it!!! Can’t waittttt!!!! 🙂

  3. Such an over packer so I’m sure I will bring 80 outfits for this weekend. Or… just throw random clothes into a suitcase like I usually do… Driving to Philly tomorrow and can’t wait for HLS!!!!!

  4. I am absolutely an over-packer. After our honeymoon I still had a few weeks worth of clothes unworn in my suitcase.

    I studied abroad in Argentina and it was amazing.

    I love hearing about your MPH studies. My dream is to get an MPH and I’m taking the GRE next month. We’ll see how it goes!

    • Wow, Argentina would be *incredible!* I’ve always wanted to visit there, or Brazil or Peru. One day!

      I’m so glad you’re enjoying my MPH journey. I always love hearing about other’s experiences in the MPH world, too. Let me know how the GRE goes for ya, I had to study hardcore for that baby to get an acceptable score (i was getting in the 300s per section for the practice tests but ended up raising my score by 300 pts/section because i studied so much!!! Prepping for it seriously does WONDERS!) Good luck!!

  5. Congrats on all the blessings coming your way. Enjoy your time in Philly! Girl, you didn’t have to tell me who Kelly Slater is. Oh my!!!! Need I say more.

  6. Amy

    Glad to hear that your supervisor is so in sync with you already! Great things are in your future I am sure!
    I am an Aussie girl from Brisbane 🙂 Did you study at Bond on the Gold Coast? Crazy the people you “meet” on the world wide web!
    I have never studied abroad but I’ve been to the USA a few times (and I’m headed back in 8 days!!) and to Italy. I am hoping to move overseas very soon, but probably to work and study some life instead 🙂
    Good luck with the run and the packing!

    • Thanks, doll! And yep, I sure did study at Bond Uni! I went to Brissy quite a few times (I’m a fan of footy and the Rugby games!). Where are you heading to stateside?

      • Amy

        Headed out this Saturday!! Hoping to move over sometime next year to be with my darling Ben 🙂
        I’ve nominated you for the Butterfly Award as well! Check out my latest post for details 🙂

  7. Oh girl, so much to be happy about! This whole post has me smiling!

  8. Hope you had a great weekend at the HLS! I am a complete over-packer. I cannot go anywhere with out at least 10 pairs of shoes.

  9. You are the cutest new face of public health I’ve ever seen. Thanks for the travel-blog

  10. Just found your blog and I love it!!! So excited for you for your MPH program! I’m (trying) to finish my PhD at the University of Virginia so your excitement is contagious and I’m going to try to bring back some of mine (it got lost somewhere last year or the year before…). I also struggle to run in the hot, humid weather in the South and am training for my 5th marathon 🙂 Can’t wait to read more!

    • 5th Marathon… wow, that’s incredible!!! So happy to hear I’ve helped sparked your excitement again 🙂 I’ve heard UVA is so gorgeous, I’ve been wanting to get up to that area for a little exploring! Can’t wait to check out your blog, too. Sounds like we have a ton in common!

  11. I just found your blog. After seeing your blog photo I realized that I saw you a quite a lot at HLS this past weekend. I wish I had known you were also an MPH candidate. We would have had a lot to chat about. MPH orientation starts next week for me!

  12. My husband and I always call ourselves, “Team Awesome,” so I laughed when I saw that caption on your picture!! 🙂

    Hope you had an awesome time at the Summit. I’m jealous! 🙂

  13. I loved chatting with you at HLS, Allison! Your enthusiasm and positivity is contagious! Congrats on being accepted into the UNC School of Public Health! I have no doubt that you’re going to be a mover and shaker. We need people like you! xoxo ❤

  14. Pingback: Empowered | Happy Tales

  15. I grew up in Durham, right next door! I love the Chapel Hill area…or as we natives call it, The Hill 🙂 It’s a great town to go to school in–have fun!

Leave a Reply

