Time for a Little Catch-Up

Happy Friday!!!

Has it really been two weeks since I posted last? My goodness, time really does fly. I’ve been SO busy with work and school — but busy in a good way.

My classes are intellectually stimulating and I am getting so much out of them that I can apply to my job. And my group-mates for each class? Well, they’re  flippin’ *amazing* – I can’t even express in words how blessed I feel to be connected to such incredible individuals.

Seriously, having a solid group is huge.  Your group-mates will either make or break your experience… and this semester my group for each class is spot-on. They are all equally invested and contribute whole-heartedly to each assignment we have. Last Fall semester? Ohmyword. Horrible. I don’t even want to talk about it. Let’s just leave it at that.

But yes, classes are awesome. Job is awesome (just had my review!). Boyfriend is happy and well (and has gained some major boyfriend points this past week for surprising me with flowers for no reason at all one night when I got home from work).

IMG_4050

Coming home to *this* on a Monday night? I’ll take it!

Happy is still her adorable little self and lovin’ life (and is spunky as ever!).

IMG_4017

Who you callin' spunky? C’moooon, Lady. Let me sleep.

Marathon training is going well and right on track. (In fact, today I’m knockin’ out 20 miles!).

Dare I say…. life is good. Stressful (ohhhh boy can some nights be stressful with those damn deadlines). But overall? Yes… yes, life is good.

It’s no secret that I am as busy as ever, though. I’ve picked up some extra hours at work since our office moved upstairs. School is in full force. Sleep has been sacrificed. And as a result, the ‘ole bloggy-blog has kindasorta (okay, definitely) taken a backseat. Home-girl needs her downtime. So when I’m not reading text-books or journal articles, or writing papers for class… I’m chillin. Straight up chillin’. Resting my eyes and mind. Which translates to less blogpost writing. Ah, well, what can ya do?

Anyway, I’m sure some of you are wondering how my half-marathon went the other weekend. In a word — it was *awesome!*

Now, for the details…

As I mentioned in my last post, I didn’t have anyone supporting me at this race. Well, that’s what I thought. Turns out… joke was on me.

Let me explain.

The second I hopped out of my car, I heard someone call my name .

“Hey!! Are you Allison?!”

I looked over at a girl two cars over from me, and thought she looked super familiar. I couldn’t place her, though, and was wracking my brain trying to figure out how I might know her.

The YMCA? Maybe? No… that wasn’t it.

I just knew that I knew her. Somehow…

Then it hit me – duh—blogland!

She introduced herself as Katie. As in – Katie from Keeping Up With Katie! I then of course immediately knew exactly who she was so excited that I ran into her! (Let me tell ya, us bloggers are an interesting breed!). She was one of the first bloggers I connected with when I first started blogging, and I’ve been following her blog for quite some time now. (BTW, if you want to see an amazing engagement story – check out hers, here! That Nick is one heck of a guy Smile).

Anywho, Katie was at the race to cheer on her fiancé, Nick, in the 10K race. This race was no biggie for him, though. He was just getting in some mileage in preparation for his half-ironman the next weekend (aka, he’s a BAMF).

Of course, Katie made him take a picture of us in the parking lot as we gabbed away about races, public health (she’s getting her MPH at UNC-Charlotte!) and how crazy-small the blogworld is.

DSC_0003

LOVE her!

We walked to the packet-pick up area and Nick and I got our race bibs and D-tag (my first time ever using a D-tag, btw… I LOVE that thing and still have it attached to my shoe!).

IMG_3983

Yep, stilllllll there.

After attaching my race bib and D-tag, I decided to get in some warm-up miles before the race started. I didn’t get too far, though. I actually ran into another one of my blogging friends – Tanya from Vegan Faith! I met Tanya at the HLS (oh my, I still need to recap HLS…) in Philadelphia and hung out with her a lot there, and let me tell you, this girl is incredible! Tanya was there to support her husband who was also running the half.  I was so, so, so excited to see her there and spent the minutes before the start of the race catching up with her.

Tanya!

She said that she’d keep a look out for me on the course, and told me she’d try to stick around to watch me finish, too. I warned her that it might be a while, since I’m a major slow-poke of a runner, but she said not to worry!

Before I knew it, the group of people at the start line began to move and we were on our way!

DSC_0006

aaaand we're off! (Thanks for the picture, Katie!)

It was a very small race (read: 400 people max) and I don’t believe they had an official sounding “start.” If they did, I totally missed it.

The course was just as I remembered – it followed neighborhood streets and climbed up and down many rolling hills.

image

hills, much?

The weather, in my eyes, was perfect. Even though it was a bit rainy and only 52 degrees, it was very refreshing. Compared to Charlotte’s brutal summer heat, I welcomed this drastic change in temperature with open arms.

True to her word, Tanya found me on the course! I recognized her with her rain boots, and was so tickled to see her cross the street to get closer to me and snap a picture Smile

Smiles for Tanya at mile 3.5

One of the things I liked about this course so much was how low-key it was. Sure, there were big groups of college kids working the water-stops (and I’m not gonna lie, I loved the fratastic guys who were flailing around on the ground making complete fools out of themselves, all the while blasting rap music from their trucks), but the majority of the run just felt like your every-day run through the neighborhood. I didn’t feel any pressure whatsoever to go fast or “keep up” with the crowd. I settled in nicely to pace that was right for me and felt like I ran the entire course very strong. And staying true to my running mantra, I of course made sure to listen to my body and stop and stretch whenever I felt the need.

When I crossed the finish line, I was completely all smiles. I kept thinking back to three years ago – when my aunt was still alive and I had yet to tell her about my race experience.

This time was different.

It’s been three years since she passed away. But the thing about this time? I know my aunt was with me. I know that she was looking down at me as I crossed the finish line once again. (And you know what’s crazy? I finished with the exact same time as I did when I ran this course 3 years ago—2:24. And I ran without ever glancing at my Garmin).

Another neat thing? The fact that Tanya was there waiting for me at the finish line!

Talk about a surprise! It meant the world to me that she parked herself at the finish to support me as I came through. I definitely had a few tears in my eyes!

After the race, I hopped back in my car and called Ryan to tell him to get ready for some fun! As I mentioned in my last post, I built my 18-mile long-run around the half-marathon, so I still had four miles left to run (I was able to get in 1 mile before the start of the race). Ryan agreed to keep my company along the way Smile.

Ryan has spent a few months visiting a sports doctor, and now that he’s done with treatment (for now) he wanted to test out his legs and run a little bit to see how his knees and achilles would hold up. He ran one mile with me and felt pretty good! We ended up popping back at home so he could switch over to his bike, and we finished out the last 3 miles together bebopping around the park.

IMG_3976

Ryan wearing a hat? at 11am? Must be a chill in the air...

I absolutely LOVE having him tag alongside me on the bike when I run.

IMG_3977

18 miles. In your face.

So, when it was all said and done, I had a most excellent 18miler, and completed my 6th half marathon

IMG_3975

Yep.

And of course…  I gotta show off the bling

IMG_3999

Time to add that baby to the collection!

I’m just about a month out from the Savannah RNR marathon, and ohhhh my word, I am getting SO excited! I can’t believe the high mileage of my training will be ending soon (I only have one more 20miler left after today’s 20miler, and then taper begins with some 13 milers in about two weeks. I’m kind of sad to see the end of training – I really enjoy the process!

Oh well, at least the holidays are almost here! And with that comes amazing food and time spent with family. In fact, my parents are coming to visit next weekend as they drive down from Ohio to Florida for the winter. I cannot *wait* to spend some quality time with my mom.

So yes, like I said, life is good.

Do you find certain times in your life super busy and hectic? What makes you feel burned out? What types of things rejuvenate you?

25 Comments

Filed under death, family, goals, graduate school, half marathon, marathon, my story, races, recap, running, Savannah RockNRoll Marathon, training

25 responses to “Time for a Little Catch-Up

  1. I’m so glad everything is going well for you and you are loving school! So awesome that you can already apply things you are learning to your job. I know I feel burned out when I schedule things back-to-back-to-back, so I’m trying to pad my schedule a little more this year so I have mini breaks throughout the day. Good luck at Savannah RNR!! I did the Cooper River Bridge Run in Savannah a few years ago and it is a really fun city to run in!

    • Ohhh I think scheduling mini-breaks througout the day is SO essential!! And I love that you’ve done the Cooper River Bridge — I have yet to run that but I have sooo many friends who drive down every year to do it! It sounds like so much fun

  2. Aw, I love this post for so many reasons — but the part that really made me smile was how Tanya waited for you to finish the race to snap a photo. That just made me really happy. 🙂 You girls are both awesome!

  3. I’m glad you’re back!

    Being recognized from the blog is something that will never feel normal to me…I always wonder if people are disappointed when they see what a nerd I am!

    • LOL I know just what you mean!!! And you know what’s crazy?! I was recognized during my Marathon back in May from my blog, too… during the actual run!!! I was chugging down some Gatorade and some girl asks “Are you Allison”??! She had found my blog a few days before the marathon when she was researching stories on how to run a race in the rain, and came across my blog — we ended up running miles 6-21 together! Talk about a smile world 🙂

  4. Thanks for the shout out!! and can I just say—it’s totally not normal to look so beautiful after running 18 miles!!

  5. How great that you had some “surprise” supporters to cheer you on throughout the race! I think that makes all the difference:) Enjoy your down time this weekend!

  6. I can’t believe you’ve done 6 half marathons already! WOW. I hope one day I get the chance to do one as well. So nice that you had some company on your last miles of your training run!

    • I can’t believe I’ve run 6, either!!!!! I remember thinking back to my first one “Holy WOW i just ran 13.1 miles… who in the right mine does that… voluntarily?!!??!” It sure is an amazing accomplishment. Heck, ANY race distance is a huge accomplishment!!!!

  7. I actually just posted on running burnout (is that what I’m experiencing???) — so glad you are feeling the opposite!

    Congrats on a great half and 18 miles. I can’t believe that Savannah is so close!

    • I know — it’s almost exactly a month away!!!! Have you gotten the jitters yet??! I remember feeling so sick to my stomach for my first marathon when it was a month away. I was so nervous!!!!

  8. I’m gearing up to run my second half marathon soon…six is amazing!!! I love hearing all the positivity in your life right now, even through all you business…it gives me hope for when I’m back in school soon!

    • It’s all about how you spin things 😉 Ya gotta find those silver linings. And giiiiirl, that’s AWESOME that you’re about to run your second half! I can’t wait to hear about how it goes.

  9. Thats so nice that she was there at the end of the race to see you!! Glad to hear everything is going so great in your life- you deserve it 😀

  10. Liz

    Life sounds great for you, not good! 😉 Congrats on the half, and I’d probably have shouted out to you like I knew you too (ie, in real life), if I saw you at a race!

  11. Cograts on your half! You are STUNNING! You’re flowers are beautiful, and the dog is adorable. 🙂

    Warm regards!
    Jenny

  12. rob

    Great Job! I love reading other runners RR’s and you do such a great job of describing your experience. I’m sure you will do great at your full next month. Will this be your second? I thought I remember you mentioning the pig was your first.

  13. congrats girl! so glad you ran into Tanya at the race! Thats so fun!

  14. Congrats on the race!
    I find that when I get stressed, I have to get to the gym. Running and lifting weights helps me clear my mind.

  15. Pingback: Race Recap: the Savannah RNR Marathon | Happy Tales

Leave a Reply

