An Engaging New Year

Alright y’all… big news.

I know I mentioned before in earlier posts that this past December couldn’t get any better. I mean seriously… with the end of the semester (and a much needed break from school work!), birthday celebrations, Christmas parties galore,  a new job, our three-year anniversary, and a week-long vacation to Arkansas to visit Ryan’s family… how could it? Life = pretty damn good.

And then… this past Saturday happened.

And I was proved wrong.

Because now? I am 100% floating on cloud nine.

On New Years Eve Day, around 3:45PM, Ryan got down on one knee… and asked me to marry him.

Of course, I said “Yes!”

IMG_5855

I’m still a little speechless (okay, maybe a lot speechless)… so I’m going to let these pictures do the talking for now. Tomorrow I’ll be posting more thoughts about everything. Both of our families live far away… and they are all sitting on pins and needles waiting to see footage of how the proposal went down. So fair warning, y’all. Tomorrow’s post is going to be a little bit on the picture-heavy side. It’ll also be oozing with cheese. [Yeah, I know… we couldn’t help it]. All of the pictures and memories we captured on camera are already irreplaceable to us. This day will forever be one of the best days of our entire lives! So don’t say I didn’t warn ya Smile with tongue out

With that said, here are some pictures to tide you over until I write a more in depth post….

IMG_5926

IMG_5924

IMG_5923

IMG_5917

IMG_5919

IMG_5872

IMG_5828

We’re getting married!!!!!!!!!!

IMG_5831

IMG_5833

Taking a closer look…

IMG_5785

IMG_5786

Yep, still in total shock.

…and this is why

IMG_5799

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

IMG_5801

IMG_5797

Seriously amazing. Everything about that day. So perfect. I will cherish these memories forever. And I know Ryan will too Smile

IMG_5842

42 Comments

Filed under family, Happiness, Holidays, love, my story, recap

42 responses to “An Engaging New Year

  1. Congratulations!!!! I am so excited for you!

    and PS – HOLY ring! Gorgeous!

  2. I echo Chelsey…HOLY RING! Congrats to a wonderful couple 🙂

  3. Congratulations Allison! You look so happy — both you AND your ring are gorgeous!

  4. Congrats!!!

    Wow – GORGEOUS ring!! I had a feeling when I saw your tweets that there was an engagement involved. I’m SO excited for you and Ryan!

  5. Rachael Ng

    Yayyy!!! Allison, that is soooooo exciting for you!!! And that ring is GORGEOUS. I’m so confused by the pictures…HOW DID IT HAPPEN???

    I love the pic of you just looking at the ring..hahhahahhaa. Yayyy!! CONGRATS to you and Ryan!! YAYYYYY!!! 🙂

  6. Congratulations! I had a feeling when i saw all your tweets recently. 🙂 And that my dear is one STUNNING ring! Wishing much happiness to you both!

  7. acajunbelle

    Congratulations!!
    Beautiful ring!

  8. krissy m. murphy

    Hooray! I am stoked for y’all! Gorgeous ring and you have the best smile ever. Many wishes of happiness!!

  9. omg girl the ring is STUNNING! so happy for you 🙂 what a great start to a great year! xo

  10. Ahhhh!!! CONGRATS!!! Can’t wait for all the deets!!! So excited for both of you!

  11. Erica

    I am very happy for you both! Your ring is BEAUTIFUL!!!!!. I am looking forward to hear all about your wedding planning. Have fun and Happy New year!!!

  12. Congrats girl and that ring, it’s just beyond beautiful! So happy for you both!

    Can’t wait to hear how the proposal went down 🙂 🙂

  13. Congrats! What a great start to the new year. Wishing you a lifetime of love, laughter and happiness.

  14. Rhonda

    WOWOWOWOWOW…… Congratulations… SOOO happy for you guys!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  15. Yaaaaay! Congrats! The rocks is HUGE – almost as big as your gorgeous smile. 😀

  16. Liz

    Coming from a total non-jewelry girl, that ring is absolutely amazing! Wow, good job Ryan.

    Congrats to both of you – I know I can always tell through your blog that you’re truly a very happy person, and it’s so exciting to see you even happier! Happy New Year 🙂

  17. GOOD GOD, that RING!!!

    totally worth the wait, right? 😉 I love, love, looove it, Allison. Congrats again!!

  18. Congratulations!! What an exciting new year 🙂 And my lawd that ring is freakin’ gorgeous!

    Michelle

  19. Congratulations! And oh my gosh- look at that rock ;)!

  20. Yes! That was my guess once you started posting about how amazing the day was. Congratulations and I’m so happy for both of you! That ring is A-MAZING and so beautiful! i can’t wait to see the next post and hear how it all went down!

  21. So excited for you and Ryan!!! Congratulations!

  22. CONGRATS!! The ring is stunning!!

  23. OMG. THAT ring! I knew I should have kidnapped him and held him hostage in Savannah. 😉 Sooo happy for you both! You guys are seriously one of the cutest, nicest, and funnest couples I’ve met. You deserve it!

  24. Lee

    Congratulations! What a great start to 2012!

  25. weeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!! cannot wait to see more pictures…and i STILL cannot get over that ring! xoxo congrats girl. love you!

  26. Kim

    That ring is GORGEOUS! Congratulations!!! How funny, because whenever you talk about your relationship on your blog – I have always wondered lately when you would get engaged.

  27. Oh my goodness!!! Congratulations girl! You will make a gorgeous bride…you already make a ridiculously beautiful engaged girl!

  28. CONGRATS! so so so happy for you! I was wondering if this year’s holidays were going to be the right time…haha!

  29. SeekingAmy

    Yay! So happy for you! The ring is beautiful! 🙂

  30. Congratulations! I just got engaged recently too – I said yes in November, but we kept it quiet for a Christmas reveal. Isn’t it the best feeling? 🙂

  31. Congrats Allison! I’m so excited for you and I LOVE your ring.

    I know the cloud 9 feeling you are on right now because I just got engaged as well – last Friday December 29th and I can’t stop smiling (or looking at my ring)!!

  32. your ring is INCREDIBLE! you guys are so adorable – and i feel honored to know this first-hand. congratulations to you both! may your engagement and marriage be filled with more love and laughter than you can possibly imagine! congratulations!!!

  33. oh that just gave me chills! yea! congrats, beautiful ring!!

  34. Congratulations and what a beautiful ring. A new year you will never forget!

  35. Allison, the only thing more beautiful than your ring is the smile on your face! Congratulations!

  36. Congrats! That is beyond exciting! What a wonderful thing to celebrate along with the New Year!

  37. For some reason, I thought you and Ryan were already married!!! Congrats!

  38. Pingback: The Proposal | Happy Tales

  39. congrats!!! for a girl who does not really like bling, that is gorgeous! can’t wait to hear about wedding planning and so much more!

  40. Congratz and love the ring!

Leave a Reply

