The Proposal

Wow. Ryan and I cannot get over all of the wonderful well-wishes we have received over these past few days. We truly feel so, so blessed…and the support and phone calls from family and friends have made us feel so special. I am so incredibly excited and grateful to be engaged to such a wonderful man.

It’s funny, I thought taking these past few days to ourselves before “announcing” our engagement to Facebook (and the blogworld)  would allow me time to gather my thoughts and figure out a coherent way to express what I’m feeling. But oh my word, that is so not the case!

I am still just as stunned as I was on Saturday afternoon! With each phone call made, my excitement to marry Ryan only grows. And I don’t see it ever stopping!

I’ve also found that I can’t stop looking at my ring.

IMG_5801_thumb

IMG_5785_thumb

This may or may not be a problem.

My eyes keep drifting towards the sparkles when my hands are on the steering wheel of my car. I’d even go as far as calling it a road hazard. I’m not typically a “materialistic” girl, but this baby sure does continue to catch my eye (and for good reason!). I must say, Ryan did an incredible job Smile

IMG_5786_thumb

Anywho, this post is about showcasing how the proposal went down. After it happened, Ryan and I made sure to take lots of pictures so that we could share with friends/family and have the moment to remember for the rest of our lives. (So most of the pictures you’ll see were taken waaaaay after the fact).

I know I’ve mentioned before that Ryan and I have family and close friends all over the country (and globe… for that matter!), so this post is mostly for them. (I apologize ahead of time for the cheesiness factor, but we were just so excited after the proposal that we had to make sure to capture it all). I know for a fact that my momma has been dying be to see these pictures. Heck, she’s pretty much dying to see me in general, as I haven’t had more than 8 hours with her at a time since last Christmas – Christmas 2010!

DSCF1497

Me and my momma, Christmas 2010, Sanibel Island

We’re both crossing our fingers and toes that Ryan and I can make it down to South Florida sometime this spring to visit her. We were originally planning on driving down to Florida next Friday to spend a week with them, but everything is all up in the air now that I have my new job (a job in which I started TODAY, by the way!).

Anywho, now it’s time for the good stuff – the details!!!!!!!!

Saturday afternoon, I brought up the idea of going on a walk to Freedom Park, a beautiful park within walking distance of our apartment. During the spring/summer/fall, Ryan and I take strolls to the park just about every weekend. It’s kind of “our” thing. So of course, Ryan agreed! The weather was perfect for it, after all.

Little did I know that Ryan had something up his sleeve, and I unknowingly did my best to make him work for it. Basically, Ryan planned to leave the house without a jacket as it was a pretty nice day and in between temperatures. About a hundred yards away from our apartment, he turns back and tells me, “Wait here, I’m going to run back and grab a jacket.”

Apparently, this was all a part of his plan to prepare for the proposal, but the thought of an extra layer was enticing, as it was a little bit on the windy side. So I joined him and grabbed a vest to layer over my long-sleeved tee-shirt… and together we made our way to the Park and continued our walk with Happy.

IMG_5754

Ryan and Happy

IMG_5756

Me and the vest that foiled the plan

On our way back to the apartment, Ryan was thinking of ways he could get me out of the house, and fortunately for him, I mentioned that I needed to run to Target for some last minute NYE things. He played it so cool… I literally had no idea what was in store.

IMG_5761

Back from our walk, right before I headed out the door to Target. Ryan actually requested I take this picture, ha!

Ryan took this opportunity and went to work setting up his proposal.

What came next… came as a complete and total surprise.

I was floored, people. Blindsided. 100%.

As I walked up to the apartment door after returning from the store, Ryan beat me to turning the handle from the other side and greeted me with a great big hug in the doorway. After he let go, I turned my head and saw this

IMG_5928_thumb

A trail of rose petals leading throughout the apartment.

IMG_5927_thumb

Tears started immediately welling up in my eyes, because that was the moment I realized what was happening. And yet, I couldn’t actually believe it was happening.

IMG_5764

Smiling through the tears…tears galore!

I was literally so stunned by everything that was taking place that I dropped my purse at the front door and didn’t pick it up again until hours later.

IMG_5926_thumb[1]

IMG_5938_thumb

::: 7:45PM ::: Ohhhh… there’s my purse. Yes yes, I remember now.

Ryan took my hand and led me along the trail of petals. He had lit candles and set up vases along the way, and told me to look inside the vases as we came upon them.

The first vase contained a tube of black paint…not something I was expecting to find.

IMG_5921_thumb

The second vase contained two paint brushes. Huh.

IMG_5922_thumb

IMG_5923_thumb

IMG_5924_thumb

All of the crying melted my brain cells into mush, so at this point, I was not really able to put any pieces together.

A few steps later, leaning against the bedroom door, was a small blank canvas. Ryan told me to pick it up as we continued into the bedroom.

IMG_5917_thumb

The petal trail led to a second canvas, a larger one, flipped over facing the wall.

IMG_5915_thumb

Ryan led me over next to it, took my hands in his, and said the most meaningful words I will remember forever. He then got down on one knee and flipped the canvas to reveal his proposal. As he took my hand, he asked me to marry him, and opened the ring box.

Of course, through the tears, I said yes!!

He slid the ring on my finger… and I just about died. The ring is more beautiful than I could have ever imagined.

IMG_5795_thumb

Lost in the moment, Ryan reminded me that I still had yet to paint my “answer” on the first (blank) canvas.

IMG_5919_thumb

Things were finally making sense Smile with tongue out

IMG_5767

IMG_5769

So shaky!!!!

IMG_5771

IMG_5772

IMG_5774

IMG_5775

IMG_5776

IMG_5779

IMG_5781

I’m laughing at myself in this above picture because I realized I didn’t leave room for an exclamation point!!!!!!! I told Ryan we needed another canvas dedicated to only exclamation points.

At this point, Ryan added his initials to the canvas he had painted earlier. You know, to make it “official.”

IMG_5868_thumb[1]

IMG_5869_thumb

IMG_5872_thumb[2]

I love that Ryan planned for us to create a keepsake to remember the moment forever.  Both of us are sentimental, and now we have these guys to hang as a memory later on down the road.

IMG_5867_thumb

exclamation point (!!!!!!!!!!)

He seriously is *such* a creative guy (case in point: the personalized edition of the Guess Who? board game he created for me for Valentines Day one year. Yep. Ryan is pretty much hands down amazing).

Sidenote: Ryan choose to propose to me on the 31st of December because it was three years earlier, on December 31st, 2008… when I first told Ryan that I loved him. That’s a big word for me, so it took me some time.

After carefully painting my answer (because let me tell you, my hand was SHAKING like no other!) we stepped outside on our porch to see the ring in better lighting… and to take pictures, of course! (Feel free to skip a lot of these… they’re pretty redundant and mostly so my mom can see them!).

IMG_5799_thumb

IMG_5797_thumb[1]

IMG_5817_thumb

IMG_5828_thumb

IMG_5831_thumb

IMG_5833_thumb

IMG_5842_thumb[1]

IMG_5855_thumb[1]

The future Mr. and Mrs. McShane. CRAZY!

After our picture session, we went back inside and called our parents Smile.

IMG_5862_thumb

Me telling my mom the good news!!!!!!!!!!

My mom had given Ryan her “approval” forever ago… she is seriously one of his biggest fans. I’ve known pretty much from our first date that Ryan was the one for me, so both my mom and I had zero idea of when things were going to move to the “next step.” Needless to say, she was floored!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (If you want to read the story of how Ryan and I first started dating, check out this post Smile).

IMG_5941_thumb

Ryan telling his family…

It took us a good day and a half to make sure we contacted everyone before we publically announced it via social media. We both come from blended families, so there were a ton of phone calls to be made!

After telling our immediate family, we headed back outside for another photo-shoot! This time, with the canvases 🙂

IMG_5903_thumb

IMG_5876_thumb

IMG_5893_thumb[1]

IMG_5896_thumb

IMG_5904_thumb

IMG_5912_thumb

Well hot damn. That was a lot of pictures!

Following all of this picture taking, Ryan and I got ready to celebrate the biggest day of our entire lives thus far, New Years Eve-style! But this post is already waaaaaaay too long to begin with, so I’ll save that for another timeSmile

Hopefully the photos I posted yesterday now make a bit more sense. Happy New Year!

35 Comments

Filed under engagement, family, Happiness, Holidays, love, marriage, my story, New Year's, New Years Eve, recap, Ryan, surprise, the proposal

35 responses to “The Proposal

  1. Amy

    I have just opened up my emails after a New Year’s hiatus and there is some of the most exciting news in the world!! Congratulations to you both!! (I am going to make up for the lack of exclamation point room on the canvas in this comment alone). I am so happy for you and Ryan, even though I only ‘know you’ through your blog. Good luck in your beautiful future together, this is just the start of an even longer and more wonderful journey in life. As long as you have each other you can weather whatever storms may come, for the moment though take the time and just bask in the sunlight of this exciting time, Congratulations lovely lady 🙂

  2. Congrats on your new job!! 🙂 and now this? So much goodness is coming at you in 2012. 🙂

    Loved that he did the canvases as part of his proposal and him remembering the first day you said i love you.

    You have a great guy!! So happy for you!

  3. What a sweet, sweet story! Congrats!

  4. Rhonda

    Thanks so much for writing and posting your wonderful proposal recap! I loved every word and picture! 🙂 Allison, the happiness I see in Ryan Casey’s eyes makes my heart smile, and I know you are the reason for his joy. Wishing you both a lifetime of joy as the years unfold. 🙂 We welcome you into the family, although I feel as though you’ve been a part of it already…. Love you bunches!

    Enjoy your new job!

  5. freakin’ adorable!!!!! love the painted signs….what a great momento!!! congrats again!!!! so happy for you!

  6. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That is the sweetest! I’ve said it a few times already but I’m so flipping happy for you guys!!!!

  7. ohmygooooooosh i love the story! and i love that you can hang those up for years on end and still get butterflies looking at the moment when he asked the question and you got to paint your answer 🙂 how lovely hunny- and of course as always, that ring is bling blingggging!

  8. Haha, you guys are too cute! Ryan did a great job on the proposal and the ring. He’s a keeper 🙂

  9. Ah, I am so so so happy for you and Ryan! Congratulations again! The proposal was so well thought out and creative. And the ring…oh my goodness! I can’t even stop looking at it! You definitely have a keeper! 😉
    I have to say that, even in the short amount of time I met Ryan in Savannah, I knew that he was the one for you. I wish you two a lifetime of love and happiness. Now the wedding fun begins!!! 😀

    P.S- Does Ryan have a single brother or friend? Haha….just kidding. Sort of. 😉

  10. So gorgeous — I love how much thought he put into having some great keepsakes! Makes me wish I’d started blogging before my proposal 🙂

  11. Love it! What a creative, beautiful way to propose! Ryan knew what he was doing. 🙂 Congrats again! Ryan is one lucky guy and I wish nothing, but happiness and love for the two of you as you take this next big step in life!! Ahhh!! You’re getting MARRIED!!!!!!! 🙂

  12. That is so adorable!! Congratulations to you both! 🙂

  13. SO CUTE!! and biggest CONGRATS!!! I know the two of you will be so happy together. You are both such wonderful people. Hugs!!!

  14. I am SO happy for you and Ryan!!! Congrats again! I love how he proposed!!!!! So sweet! The ring is beautiful!!!!

  15. What a great proposal story! You both look so happy and excited. What a wonderful way to start a new year! 🙂

  16. Ohhhh!!! Congrats beautiful!!! I am so so so happy for you!!! The ring is gorgeous, and your fiance did a great job working out how to propose to you!!!

  17. so happy for you! 🙂 that paintbrush and canvas idea is the cutest ever. good work Ryan!

  18. OMG! This is SO adorable! The canvas?! So cute.. I love it! He definitely did an amazing job! Good job Ryan.. and your ring.. is beautiful! Congrats and welcome to the wedding planning madness!

  19. This is so precious, and I love that you have those paintings to hang up for years to come. Seriously, what a great guy. Congrats again to both of you!

  20. Aww, very sweet and original idea. Go Ryan!

  21. Diana

    What a cute story?!?!? He *is* creative. And i love how youll have all those mementos to cherish. Congrats girl! I’m
    So excited for you both! 🙂

  22. Liz

    I love LOVE all of the pictures! And everything about it was so thoughtful. Yay! 🙂

  23. Lynne

    Like Amy I only “know” you through your blog – but congratulations! You both look so utterly blissfully happy !

  24. I absolutely adore this. SO creative! and you guys can hang that on your wall… with a picture of you two holding the canvases.. oh my word.

    and your ring is STILL my favorite. so excited for you!

  25. AWWWWWWWW Congrats. Your ring is beautiful and the proposal was so sweet!

  26. you guys are absolutely adorable. i love this.

  27. Wow! I seriously love this story. I am close to tears at how sweet and thoughtful the proposal was and I am absolutely so so happy for you Rice! You are amazing and I’m so glad that everything is going absolutely perfect for you in 2012! I hope your first week of work was fantastic and you make it home to your mother soon (and BTW if you’re ever in Columbia, give me a call. I’d love to catch up)!

    Love in XO!

    ❤ Lyndey

  28. AHHHH!! You’re engaged!! Congrats, sweet lady!! You two are adorable! I absolutely love this proposal! 🙂

  29. Congratulations! I can’t wait to see what the new 2012 will have in store for you!

  30. OH MY GOODNESS GRACIOUS! I have been on vacation since the morning of the 31st and I just saw on your twitter page that you were referring to Ryan as your fiance. I was thinking, I didn’t think they were engaged so I popped over here and saw that GORGEOUS RING!! Holy Moly that is basically my dream ring and Ryan did an Awesome job with the canvas idea! So creative!! Congrats to you both!!!

  31. Pingback: No Better Way to Celebrate | Happy Tales

  32. Life's a Bowl

    ABSOLUTELY ADORABLE! Yay, congrats to you and your new fiance 😀

  33. Pingback: Love. | Happy Tales

Leave a Reply

